Camera ZDepth

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:08 pm

Rather than having to adjust every object on the screen
would it be possible to have a Display->Set Z ?
B
2
G
3
Posts: 43
Reputation: 936

Post » Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:11 pm

Would zooming the layer not work for some reason?
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:52 pm

[quote="deadeye":2a382s28]Would zooming the layer not work for some reason?[/quote:2a382s28]

This.

I originally thought that zoom merely enlarged the image, losing the parallax effect of a moving camera. Turns out it just moves the camera up and down along the Z axis.
Moderator
B
98
S
36
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,717

Post » Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:02 am

http://www.xdtech.net/construct/zdepth.zip

Zoom and ZDepth != same thing heh.
(0.99.3)

*edit*
Also demonstrates the distort-map "Popping" problem I've been having.
B
2
G
3
Posts: 43
Reputation: 936

Post » Thu Jun 11, 2009 6:04 am

Okay, it doesn't work quite as I thought. In that case, I wholeheartedly endorse this feature request. :P
Moderator
B
98
S
36
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,717

Post » Thu Jun 11, 2009 6:43 am

Sorry but if every object had the same z there would be no depth. Objects must be at different z heights in order to see a difference, hence the reason why zero is on the ground, and 100 is kicking in your teeth. Besides you can use families to change multiple object's z at one time.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749

Post » Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:09 am

[quote="newt":efj3fjer]Sorry but if every object had the same z there would be no depth. Objects must be at different z heights in order to see a difference, hence the reason why zero is on the ground, and 100 is kicking in your teeth. Besides you can use families to change multiple object's z at one time.[/quote:efj3fjer]

If every object had the same Z? Oo What on earth are you talking about heh. I just want to have a function that adjusts exactly where the camera is located on the Z axis. if objects are greater than 100 beyond the camera, then they are culled out. Using families to adjust it requires all objects to have the same variables which pretty much destroys the concept of "Making a project with more than one type of thing" that relies on z-depth.

I'm just trying to get as 3D as possible with Construct :)
B
2
G
3
Posts: 43
Reputation: 936

Post » Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:14 am

It doesn't, objects in families can have different variables/behaviors etc.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:48 am

[quote="Rich":2sehx1ms]It doesn't, objects in families can have different variables/behaviors etc.[/quote:2sehx1ms]

Ah - I remember reading something that said different; my mistake there.
B
2
G
3
Posts: 43
Reputation: 936


Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest