Can Construct 2 handle large layouts? (10000x10000 and such)

Just started using Construct 2? Post your questions here

Post » Sat May 14, 2016 7:46 am

I'm planning to make a open-world top-down shooter game, and I want to know is it possible to make these large layouts with not much perfomance loss?
B
8
S
2
Posts: 55
Reputation: 654

Post » Sat May 14, 2016 8:08 am

Miksu112 wrote:I'm planning to make a open-world top-down shooter game, and I want to know is it possible to make these large layouts with not much perfomance loss?


This has been asked many times and the best response is to point you to the Search Results.

Some very good answers from Ashley regarding large layouts, memory management and render cells.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
131
S
29
G
81
Posts: 5,328
Reputation: 56,630

Post » Sat May 14, 2016 8:09 am

Yes it can. I'm currently developing a game with the layouts just over 10000x10000
Image
B
75
S
23
G
3
Posts: 673
Reputation: 9,273

Post » Sat May 14, 2016 8:17 am

Thanks!
B
8
S
2
Posts: 55
Reputation: 654

Post » Mon May 16, 2016 8:58 am

Yeah, large layouts aren't a problem, it's more to do with how many objects you fill them up with because the C2 engine needs to be testing all the collisions, etc. Sometimes if I'm making something enormous I'll put all the purely cosmetic objects onto a layer together, select everything on the layer, and turn off collisions for all of them :)
Image



Coming soon on Steam!
B
16
S
9
G
3
Posts: 201
Reputation: 3,460

Post » Thu May 19, 2016 8:42 am

as other developers said, c2 can handle large layouts max layout size is stacked at 100 000 pixels by 100 000 pixels however above 500 sprite objects moving and updating you may encounter fps drops and high cpu/gpu consumptions which on mobile platforms means large battery consumption and sometimes crashes.. on pc however ... on a newer rig you can run a C2 game with around 15,000 sprite objects at a 24 FPS but since not everyone has its rig updated i wold not place more then 1000 active objects in a layout.
Active meaning ... updating positions changing effects parameters and other stuff.
if they are just static objects(they dont do nothing just stays there as a bg image or hud elements) then you can add around 2500 of them. so you can have usability above all.

this info is based on my personal rig

CPU

Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6400 CPU @ 2.70GHz

Maximum speed: 2.00 GHz
Sockets: 1
Cores: 4
Logical processors: 4
Virtualization: Enabled
L1 cache: 256 KB
L2 cache: 1.0 MB
L3 cache: 6.0 MB

Utilization 3%
Speed 0.78 GHz
Up time 8:17:45:30
Processes 54
Threads 798
Handles 25203

Memory

8.0 GB

Speed: 2133 MHz
Slots used: 1 of 4
Form factor: DIMM
Hardware reserved: 47.4 MB

Available 5.4 GB
Cached 1.8 GB
Committed 3.1/9.3 GB
Paged pool 295 MB
Non-paged pool 155 MB
In use 2.6 GB
B
70
S
20
G
67
Posts: 1,315
Reputation: 42,303

Post » Thu May 19, 2016 8:45 am

If it doesn't already exist, I'll be making a tutorial later on making map sections that will only load when you're close to them. They'll be stored in local storage, without using RAM. This would allow you to make unlimited sizing of the game without dropping any information.
ImageImage
B
44
S
13
G
2
Posts: 252
Reputation: 6,246

Post » Wed Sep 21, 2016 1:41 pm

@KTML5

You've told something about tutorial for using map sections to load only when player close. Can I see it somewhere?

I've a trouble with creating big world (Not talking about 10,000 pixels or 100,000 pixels. Far more!) and I can't design inside Construct 2 as it would be unpossible
I have to use my own engine to create locations there and then load when player's close.
Have you found any way to store the data of objects?

I've a created a topic for my issue on the forum so please visit if interested to help
recreate-location-as-player-moves_t147455

Thank you very much!
I'm a Magician, not a Developer.
B
21
S
8
G
25
Posts: 105
Reputation: 14,252

Post » Wed Oct 05, 2016 10:11 am

KTML5 wrote:If it doesn't already exist, I'll be making a tutorial later on making map sections that will only load when you're close to them. They'll be stored in local storage, without using RAM. This would allow you to make unlimited sizing of the game without dropping any information.


@KTML5

That will be an extremely useful and much appreciated tutorial once you get around to it!
B
29
S
13
G
6
Posts: 49
Reputation: 4,956

Post » Sat Oct 08, 2016 9:21 am

@jbr190, I've started the tutorial. :) I'll be adding a bit more to it tomorrow. Sadly, I will have to work on it weekly. I work A LOT of hours, plus development time, so although I love making free things, I don't always have the time to get it all done at once.
ImageImage
B
44
S
13
G
2
Posts: 252
Reputation: 6,246


Return to Beginner's Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests