Can you make cutscenes?

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Sun Jul 25, 2010 10:56 pm

Hi, I really enjoyed Construct and I'm going to start making some games with it soon enough. But there is something I really like to put into my games, cutscenes.

So I need to know if the most recent stable version of Construct can do these type of cutscenes, and if its not too troublesome, how:

1) A simple cutscene of two people talking, where the player will be able to skip the text by pressing some key.
2)A more complex cutscene that will actually move the camera away from the player to a certain event that will affect the stage. Like a rock falling into the entrance, blocking it.
3)Load a cutscene made in another program, by example, I animate something in Flash and Construct loads it and play, then returns to the game.

Thanks guys, awesome program you got there.
B
2
G
2
Posts: 11
Reputation: 672

Post » Sun Jul 25, 2010 11:19 pm

Yes you can do that,But create a video cutscene it's much easier.You can also create a cutscene with the ingame graphics.

[quote:1mwsrbu6]1:19am in the morning and i can't sleep lol[/quote:1mwsrbu6]
B
22
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,356
Reputation: 7,141

Post » Sun Jul 25, 2010 11:34 pm

Yes, but you'll have to do it manually.

A dialogue cutscene can be done by creating a new hidden layer for the text box, which changes the contents of the text every time the player presses the confirm key, hiding and showing itself when prompted.

Set up an activation condition (i.e. player overlaps X,Y) and have the layer unhide itself. Make sure you disable the player-controlled movement behavior first. I know some people who enter the text into the event sheets and link them to a numbered variable which goes up each time the player presses the confirmation button, and some people reference the text from an INI or other text-based file.

There are a few ways to stop input and manipulate player and enemy movements, which is probably the most important part of a cutscene. Look through behavior actions for something that will help.

You can have things going on in the background, like rocks falling into the entrance or a bunch of chickens doing a little dance. Use behaviors and animations to allow objects to move. Think creatively; experiment with the engine and apply the results of said experimentation to your project.

I don't know about Flash support, but I'm pretty sure Construct accepts some movie formats that Macromedia Flash files could be exported as.

Sorry if I'm being a bit vague, but I'm a wee bit tired at the moment.
B
2
G
2
Posts: 11
Reputation: 672

Post » Sun Jul 25, 2010 11:46 pm

Thanks for the replies!

So I see its possible to create cutscenes, but something I did not understand was the part about the text, you have to put the text into a variable then loading it up into the game?
B
2
G
2
Posts: 11
Reputation: 672

Post » Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:24 am

If it helps at all, I answered a similar question recently over in Help/Tech Support.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6850

Maybe that will be of some use here.
B
2
G
2
Posts: 48
Reputation: 746

Post » Tue Jul 27, 2010 1:40 am

[quote="xSnAkEx":3lmyan6z]2)A more complex cutscene that will actually move the camera away from the player to a certain event that will affect the stage. Like a rock falling into the entrance, blocking it.
[/quote:3lmyan6z]
You might want to try
New Action -> System -> Display -> Set Zoom
this will allow you to "zoom the camera" in and out.
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 271
Reputation: 2,017


Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest