Can't Respond via PM

If you have found a bug, or have a suggestion/comment then leave it here

Post » Tue Apr 30, 2013 12:58 am

I'm currently facing an issue where I can't respond to people that have PM'ed me. I don't have sufficient reputation to respond.

Now, I can fully understand restricting sending new PM's to new users. I've built several PHP forums from scratch and setup many others, so I'm aware of the reason.. but when it comes to responding to someone who PM'ed *me*, it's *really* frustrating to not be able to respond. Moreso because there's no reason why someone who contacted me should be punished by my inability to say anything in return (especially since they had a reason to expect a response).

Could some admin come in and enable that ability for me? Or, alternatively, enable responding to PMs.
B
5
S
1
G
1
Posts: 6
Reputation: 362

Post » Tue Apr 30, 2013 12:41 pm

Hello, I've made it so anyone 'whitelisted' can now PM. It should now work for you.

I know it's frustrating, and I apologise. Unfortunately we had a lot of scammers and spammers PMing our user base causing problems. A rep limit has proven to be one of the most effective ways to eliminate it.
Image Image
Scirra Founder
B
124
S
37
G
25
Posts: 3,945
Reputation: 44,887

Post » Tue Apr 30, 2013 1:43 pm

Hey Tom,

Thanks for your help :) It's very appreciated. And yeah, I understand the irritants of spammers. Thanks for the whitelist!
B
5
S
1
G
1
Posts: 6
Reputation: 362

Post » Sat Jun 08, 2013 10:33 pm

How much reputation do you need to accumulate to send a PM anyhow? I tried looking around for the info, so if it's posted somewhere else already I apologize.
B
6
S
1
Posts: 62
Reputation: 532

Post » Sat Jun 08, 2013 11:31 pm

@Wigriff
i think i read on a thread in the past its 500 but i could be wrong.. many have wanted to reach 500
B
18
S
5
G
7
Posts: 593
Reputation: 7,086

Post » Sun Jun 09, 2013 2:03 am

Thank you. :)
B
6
S
1
Posts: 62
Reputation: 532

Post » Thu Jun 27, 2013 3:09 pm

How do you get "whitelisted"?
B
12
S
2
Posts: 85
Reputation: 899

Post » Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:39 pm

It has to be done manually by us.
Image Image
Scirra Founder
B
124
S
37
G
25
Posts: 3,945
Reputation: 44,887

Post » Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:43 pm

Hi Tom can I ask to be in the whitelisted too? I have this guy posted in my thread that I wish to contact but I found out that I need more reps to do so, so I searched Google and I found this thread. If I am asking in the wrong place I am sorry and can you please redirect me to the proper page.

Thank You
B
3
Posts: 8
Reputation: 291


Return to Website Issues and Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests