Cannot preview browser "Node-Webkit"

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Problem Description
Trying to preview my capx using "Node-WebKit". I get an error.

Observed Result
node-webkit.png


Expected Result
To preview my project in a desktop-like application without browsers.

Operating System and Service Pack
Windows 7, SP1

Construct 2 Version ID
R195 (64-bit)

Things I've try to fix the issue
Uninstall, Reinstall.
Uninstall, disable avast!, Reinstall, loaded Construct 2 normally and with administrator right mode enabled and try to preview project.
Uninstalled, reinstalled to a different location, different disk and folder name.

I am familiar with avast! having removed .exe's before but I have avast! disabled when trying this, all chests and scan results of avast! have no trace of interfering.

I also noticed that when I downloaded the latest release and extracted (installed) it, nw.exe wasn't located in the folder at all and I'm not sure if it was suppose to be there. Could I have a corrupt installation, should nw.exe be in my C2 installation?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
7
Posts: 10
Reputation: 945

Post » Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:32 pm

Have you installed the separate node-webkit installation found here https://www.scirra.com/node-webkit ?

This has been needed for a few builds now, and if you haven't installed it, you should really start reading the release notes.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
84
Posts: 5,375
Reputation: 58,432

Post » Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:33 pm

It's not a bug.

C2 come now without Node-webkit.

To use node-webkit with preview and export, download http://www.scirra.com/node-webkit and install.
With that, you can use the preview and export :)
B
38
S
13
G
4
Posts: 152
Reputation: 5,147

Post » Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:43 pm

zenox98 wrote:Have you installed the separate node-webkit installation found here https://www.scirra.com/node-webkit ?

This has been needed for a few builds now, and if you haven't installed it, you should really start reading the release notes.


It was a fresh download, I hadn't checked down as far as 6th Nov, 2014 to see that it was unbundled.
anata wrote:It's not a bug.

C2 come now without Node-webkit.

To use node-webkit with preview and export, download http://www.scirra.com/node-webkit and install.
With that, you can use the preview and export :)


Oh okay. I wasn't aware that they split it. I'll download and try that then. Thanks.
B
7
Posts: 10
Reputation: 945

Post » Tue Jan 27, 2015 5:30 pm

Closing as not a bug.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,368
Reputation: 193,756


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests