Cannot preview Layout / Chrome the problem?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:53 am

Hey guys,

I am relatively new to Construct 2 and I am really enjoying it. It reminds me a lot of the oldschool RPG Makers and the Javascript Plug in feature makes it quite adaptable.

The only issue I have with the software is that I cannot preview the layout

I get the Oops! Google Chrome could not find localhost:5000 error and first thought F it I will use my server but that is tedious. It means I have to upload the files via Filezilla everytime I want to see if the most minute detail works.

Possible Solutions?

1. I tried manually selecting chrome.exe since I thought maybe Construct cant find it in the %appdata% folder. I cant find chrome.exe in the file browser so I just made a shortcut to the desktop and used that as my "custom browser". It still opens my "main" chrome, not the shortcut and (no new window) and I still have the error.

2. My home network is a bit complicated and that may be the problem but on the other hand dosent construct use some Apache server to run it locally? So I am on the fence about this one because I think it should run locally right? Also I am not running any web servers on my computer since that was a possible solution I saw.

3. Use WAMP (no slow file transfers) or my server


Sorry if this topic has been adressed somewhere else but I couldnt find a solution using Google search and these forums.


EDIT I also get a timeout if I use Firefox and also IE. So I am guessing it is due to some network funk. Ill just use WAMP then. Kraion2012-02-07 11:05:44
B
4
Posts: 7
Reputation: 464

Post » Tue Feb 07, 2012 3:58 pm

Construct 2 uses a HTTP server built in to Windows. I'm not sure why it wouldn't work, have you checked your firewall settings and if you have any other server software installed? Have you tried changing the preview port? Have you tried using Preview on LAN just in case that works?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,610

Post » Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:26 pm

I feel pretty stupid.... was just the firwall (turned it off and worked).

Thanks a bunch Ashley!
B
4
Posts: 7
Reputation: 464

Post » Wed Feb 08, 2012 1:54 pm

Wow, I did the same thing as you Kraion. My Firewall was blocking.
Thanks Ashley.

_________________
I Bring Darkness.
B
2
Posts: 2
Reputation: 254

Post » Wed Feb 08, 2012 5:13 pm

You shouldn't just turn off your firewall completely, since it can make your computer less secure. The How to preview on a local network tutorial includes steps to allow previewing through the Windows Firewall, but if you have a different firewall the steps will be different. Basically, you need to allow inbound TCP connections on port 50000-50100.Ashley2012-02-08 17:13:43
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,610

Post » Wed Feb 08, 2012 6:00 pm

I made a manual exeption. You should just go to the windows firewall settings and click "add program" and look for construct 2.
B
4
Posts: 7
Reputation: 464

Post » Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:24 pm

Ok guys, i'm lost. I have same problem -- Oops! Google Chrome could not find localhost:50000 -- and nothing helps. I added construct 2 to firewall, i used manual to add ports 50000-50100, installed both x32 and x64 bit system versions. But always get this error.
My laptop get internet wireless from router. 2 more laptops using this router (brother and friend), but i don't think that can be problem with these computers. Don't know what to do anymore. :(
B
3
Posts: 1
Reputation: 302

Post » Tue Oct 23, 2012 2:48 pm

@Pisiukas - have you tried reading troubleshooting Construct 2's preview server?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,610


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests