Can't Fraps my game anymore

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Dec 09, 2014 5:17 pm

It's been a while since I exported with node-webkit and I noticed some changes, but now the FRAPS overlay won't show up in the .exe build of my game and I can't capture it anymore. Did something change that FRAPS doesn't like?
B
19
S
5
G
1
Posts: 96
Reputation: 2,710

Post » Tue Dec 09, 2014 5:44 pm

did u try uninstalling it and installing it again? FRAPS sometimes may have bugs that could not function it. usually i solve the problem by closing it and opening it again or when it's not working i uninstall it and install it again. i hope if you could try and re-install it, hope that helped :)
B
5
Posts: 8
Reputation: 243

Post » Tue Dec 09, 2014 6:01 pm

I had this happen to me too a while back :( I found an alternative though, but I still would much prefer FRAPS. Not sure why this happens.
B
51
S
20
G
10
Posts: 571
Reputation: 9,819

Post » Tue Dec 09, 2014 6:04 pm

Jase00 wrote:I had this happen to me too a while back :( I found an alternative though, but I still would much prefer FRAPS. Not sure why this happens.


What was your alternative? I've gone through a few capture softwares and none of them have worked nearly as well as FRAPS (ie. wouldn't capture system sounds, wouldn't work at all, etc).
B
19
S
5
G
1
Posts: 96
Reputation: 2,710

Post » Tue Dec 09, 2014 6:05 pm

To be honest I found FRAPS isn't good enough. 'Action!' was much better for me.
ImageImageImageImageImage
B
19
S
5
G
1
Posts: 614
Reputation: 2,542

Post » Tue Dec 09, 2014 6:17 pm

I'm personally using Bandicam.
B
33
S
12
G
7
Posts: 227
Reputation: 7,582

Post » Tue Dec 09, 2014 6:39 pm

Woah I'm super impressed with Action! May end up purchasing it.

I mean that still doesn't explain Fraps being weird, but thanks!
B
19
S
5
G
1
Posts: 96
Reputation: 2,710

Post » Tue Dec 09, 2014 7:03 pm

@MadameBerry I think fraps record games based on how they render, I personnally do not use it but another one I tried which worked with other games did not work (0 width, 0 height in the video exported), I guess node webkit had changed how it render maybe.

All based on intuition though, other may know even more.
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
54
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,123
Reputation: 17,150

Post » Tue Dec 09, 2014 7:55 pm

@MadameBerry Yeah, 'Action!' gave me by far the best results. The others I tried seemed to have bad frame rates and audio issues. Whereas 'Action!' seems to have less overhead, plus it's pretty cheap to buy a license.

The only slight negative is that I couldn't trim the video in it. However I used VLC for that.

Can anyone recommend good video editing software with VFX? I tried MS Movie Maker but it reprocesses the video which ends with poor quality results.
ImageImageImageImageImage
B
19
S
5
G
1
Posts: 614
Reputation: 2,542

Post » Wed Dec 10, 2014 1:30 am

@TheWyrm, I hope that Avidemux might be what you're after.
A big fan of JavaScript.
B
76
S
20
G
76
Posts: 2,296
Reputation: 47,576

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests