Can't Fraps my game anymore

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Mar 11, 2015 2:54 pm

Fraps doesnt see NW, Nvidia ShadowPlay doesnt see NW, Bandicam doesnt see NW... NW like a ninja at now... (((
Image
B
27
S
10
G
3
Posts: 111
Reputation: 4,948

Post » Wed Mar 11, 2015 8:45 pm

Having actually used OBS a bit now, I can say that it really does work great, and is the first screen cap software I've tried (including fraps, which used to work) that is able to capture 60fps gameplay with dropping frames. That it encodes on the fly into h264 is even better. And while it's very powerful and flexible, it's dead easy to use and understand (often the weak point of open source).

@sqiddster

You have an SSD and an i5/i7 right? Just go to 'encoding' and set the bitrate really high, like 25,000, 30,000 or 50,000. The quality will still be really, really good...enough for promo videos, and overkill for youtube. Better than capturing a microscopically sharper image with another program that lags and drops frames.
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:19 pm

Nvidia ShadowPlay can record desktops, so if you running your game, which is 720p on 1080p screen then you can crop it in post and you will have a movie.
Didn't test that specifically with NW, but with some other games officially not supported by NV SP. There is also a trick I found to record full screen games, you have to switch desktop recording to on, start recording and then run your game.
ImageImageImageImage
B
157
S
66
G
41
Posts: 2,599
Reputation: 34,835

Post » Thu Mar 12, 2015 10:30 pm

wow this is still getting replies.

Trying to record my desktop with FRAPS gives me a black screen. Not sure if that's a problem with my setup or fraps or what.
I'll look into OBS.
B
19
S
5
G
1
Posts: 96
Reputation: 2,710

Post » Wed Sep 14, 2016 2:44 pm

This is an issue with Chromium right not NW or Construct as I understand it.

I think it's a real shame, almost makes me want to hold off releasing my game so that people can easily capture footage of it using the most popular methods.

OBS does work btw, which is cool.
B
43
S
13
G
8
Posts: 622
Reputation: 7,392

Post » Wed Sep 14, 2016 8:16 pm

MadameBerry wrote:
Jase00 wrote:I had this happen to me too a while back :( I found an alternative though, but I still would much prefer FRAPS. Not sure why this happens.


What was your alternative? I've gone through a few capture softwares and none of them have worked nearly as well as FRAPS (ie. wouldn't capture system sounds, wouldn't work at all, etc).


If you use Nvidia graphics cards, they have started including ShadowPlay in their driver sets. It records incredible quality videos (like many Gb total size).
https://www.ravenheart.ca/home
Company name changed to avoid Facebook-type shenanigans

"Someone once told me I bite off more than I can chew...

I told them I would rather choke on greatness than nibble on mediocrity."
B
22
S
6
G
1
Posts: 1,415
Reputation: 4,824

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tarek2 and 6 guests