*.Cap corupted on crash. I lost my entire build

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:41 pm

Looks like I need to learn the lesson of backing up my data.
B
3
G
3
Posts: 13
Reputation: 1,201

Post » Sun Oct 31, 2010 1:02 am

How long have you been working on the .cap?
Looks like you need to use save as, not save.
What version of construct are you using?
B
25
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,197
Reputation: 5,620

Post » Sun Oct 31, 2010 2:28 am

Has Construct an automatic backup system? If so, where I turn it on?

I know some CAD (computer-aided design) programs make backups of your works every time you save.
B
1
G
2
Posts: 2
Reputation: 679

Post » Sun Oct 31, 2010 5:57 am

File -> Preferences.

It has options for auto-saving, and making auto-backups of normal saves.

I'm not a big fan of auto-save features, but I'd recommend setting at least 3 auto-backups.

I keep 5 auto-backups, and routinely increment the version number on the end of the file name when I make a significant addition or change. This results in a lot of backups, but can often come in handy. Even if it's not a corrupted file that screws you, imagine that you tried to make a significant change that doesn't work out well... You can always roll it back to undo your mistake.
B
3
S
2
G
2
Posts: 187
Reputation: 1,449

Post » Tue Nov 02, 2010 7:24 am

I wasn't working on it very long, but long enough for it to be sad to have lost.

Thanks for the auto save info, I turned it on.

I'm using version .99.96
B
3
G
3
Posts: 13
Reputation: 1,201

Post » Wed Nov 03, 2010 7:45 pm

Why don't you save your work as a cst file.Ive found that if i save my games as actual templates then it doesn't corrupt so much.
B
22
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,356
Reputation: 7,141


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest