CHANGE LANGUAGE....Help me on this

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Jan 29, 2014 6:03 pm

Sorry but i could not find any thread related to this...

Actually i want to change the language of my game build which i compile with cocoonjs... i mean when people install my apk on their mobile... the name of game should be in different specific language in menu of mobiles.... like i want it in chinese..so the app name shows in chinese... and while playing game the text which is shown when i press back button it shows... "are you sure you want to exit" ..this text also...so is there a way in constrcut 2 which can translate these text to a specific.language... Thanks

If anyone find any thread related to this query...please reply with a link...


Thanks guys
B
6
S
1
Posts: 52
Reputation: 500

Post » Wed Jan 29, 2014 6:21 pm

Have you ever tried translating with translate.google.com?
If so you should be aware that translation isn't something that can be done by programs or machines.

If you'd like your translations to be correct and readable you'd need a person to translate it for you..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Wed Jan 29, 2014 6:25 pm

This isn't that hard, but does require some initial setup and decisions.

Are you using some text object or are you using images. Maybe both.

If your using images you should then use animations with the language support. Just change the images based on the language. Also do a section where players can change the language variables based on images.

If your using TEXT. The best wave is to create varible JSON/XML files.
I've done this once before so it's not that hard.

I don't know any other languages so this is just a pseudo example.

language.en
HELLO : "Hello world!",
TEST : "This is a language test"

language.baby
HELLO : "badagoboo",
TEST : "pbbbbbbfff boodapoo"

So no you have 2 language files.

Through out your game set all your text objects TEXT var to your language variable set.

Textobject.text = HELLO


ok. Load your language string into the Dictionary plugin.
At the beggining of a page loop through each text object

On Start of Layout

For each TextObject/SpriteFont
object.setText = Dictionary.get( object.text )

and now you are multilanguge
B
90
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 15,038

Post » Fri Jan 31, 2014 8:17 am

@LittleStain
@jayderyu

Thanks for the repLY guys...no am not using text am using images in app but the problem is not to change language text inside the app its outside like here is the screenshots

AND


I want these text in chinese or any specific language i mention...only for these 2...
B
6
S
1
Posts: 52
Reputation: 500

Post » Fri Jan 31, 2014 10:48 am

You ought to have a look at this tutorial, it's actually pretty awesome !

https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/444/supporting-multiple-languages
Using R243 for all examples
B
69
S
20
G
6
Posts: 379
Reputation: 9,699

Post » Fri Jan 31, 2014 8:17 pm

It's a good tutorial. But using JSON file instead would produce less code overhead. Since C2 Dictionary can import a C2 JSON.

@aashcool07
C2 can't do that. What your looking at is the manifest file or IOS wrapper information. If you want a per country change for language. You will need to create different versions of the app with different information in meta package. So what you need is just more than one version.
B
90
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 15,038

Post » Sat Feb 01, 2014 7:41 am

@emoaeden thanks for the link

@jayderyu thanks for your reply
So for creating a different version...what i have to with construct 2 i mean it got some features to create app which am looking for?
B
6
S
1
Posts: 52
Reputation: 500

Post » Sat Feb 01, 2014 5:33 pm

@aashcool07
No game on Android can change there icon name. No game in IOS can change there icon name.

You need to create the game. Compile/Export the game. Then non C2 tools change ID of the games ICON.

For Android you need find the manifest file. For IOS I don't now. I've never exported to IOS.
B
90
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 15,038

Post » Sat Feb 01, 2014 7:22 pm

@jayderyu Thanks for the information :)
B
6
S
1
Posts: 52
Reputation: 500


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 26 guests