change parameters on all instances of an enemy

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat May 02, 2015 11:24 pm

Hi!
for the moment I have just 1 enemy. I have him in several parts of the stage so i multiplied it holding ctrl and moving it.
The thing is that if I select only one of them and change it's parameters the others won't change, only the one selected. If i select it on the project folder all of them are selected but the parameters in the behavior (in this case platform) will be erased and have to complete them all again which is a lot fo work. And it's also a problem deleting them all except for one where I'll change the parameters to copy it later. There have to be an easy way to do this but can't find it.
B
5
S
1
Posts: 92
Reputation: 609

Post » Sun May 03, 2015 3:16 am

When you ctl drag off an object it creates an instance of that object with all behaviors, instance variables, and settings inside at THAT moment. The key is to put your original in a specific location off-screen and set it up exactly like you want ALL of instances of its type to behave. Then ctl drag them off. The nice thing is, if you later want a cloned instance to behave in a different manner you can manually change its settings.
Check out my completed games on the Arcade! Capt. Doe Save the Universe! & Clicker Wizard!
B
71
S
19
G
8
Posts: 640
Reputation: 9,701

Post » Sun May 03, 2015 3:08 pm

Can't you just shift select the ones you want to alter - then anything you alter (size, speed, instance variables, etc) will only effect the selected ones ?
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
64
S
34
G
47
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 30,892


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests