change the node-webkit icon?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Feb 11, 2015 8:55 pm

Am I correct to think that this is still not implemented within the actual editor?
Nothing goes unanswered!
B
22
S
5
G
1
Posts: 430
Reputation: 3,383

Post » Thu Apr 02, 2015 9:27 pm

Yes you are, Ashley does not seem to care about that at the time...
ImageImageImageImage
B
42
S
11
G
64
Posts: 554
Reputation: 35,811

Post » Sat Nov 14, 2015 11:14 am

@ashley any updates on this? Will C2 ever bring support for changing .exe icon? Or will we forever have to do it with 3rd-party programs?
“The best time to plant a tree is 20 years ago. The second best time is now.”
B
30
S
7
G
4
Posts: 369
Reputation: 4,488

Post » Tue Apr 26, 2016 11:19 pm

Any news?? This seems pretty essential
B
24
S
11
G
1
Posts: 100
Reputation: 2,797

Post » Tue Apr 26, 2016 11:46 pm

Any news?? This seems pretty essential
B
24
S
11
G
1
Posts: 100
Reputation: 2,797

Post » Wed Apr 27, 2016 11:51 am

You need 3rd-party program to "resource hacker" windows program
B
136
S
22
G
16
Posts: 886
Reputation: 30,773

Post » Wed Apr 27, 2016 12:02 pm

I agree it would be nice to have the option directly in C2 when exporting
B
21
S
6
G
8
Posts: 327
Reputation: 6,602

Post » Wed Apr 27, 2016 2:35 pm

Yes I agree, it would be more convenient and easy.
B
136
S
22
G
16
Posts: 886
Reputation: 30,773

Post » Wed Apr 27, 2016 8:41 pm

I will just leave this recent response from Ashley here:
Ashley wrote:Changing the icon of a Windows executable is suprisingly hard. It uses the ICO format which is an ancient format dragged kicking and screaming from the 16-bit Windows 3.1 days all the way through to 64-bit Windows 10. It never had any decent support in the Windows APIs to write ICO files as far as I am aware, and the documentation on the subject is pretty poor (and absolutely littered with accumulated backwards-compatibility baggage from over the years). So to support this would basically mean spending several days reverse-engineering an old, obscure and poorly documented format. Alternatively there are existing tools that can do this, and we have a lot of much more pressing things to work on, so...
ImageImageImageImage
B
42
S
11
G
64
Posts: 554
Reputation: 35,811

Previous

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Vavacav and 1 guest