Changing Keyboard Keys

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Thu May 28, 2009 4:12 am

Hi guys,
So I just downloaded Construct and think it's great for mocking up prototypes and demo's but there is one thing that I searched for but couldn't find and that was changing the keys for the pre-made scripts such as the 8 directional movement. Can I change the UP,DOWN,LEFT,RIGHT keys to W,A,S,D?

Cheers :D
Myles Blasonato.
B
1
G
3
Posts: 3
Reputation: 831

Post » Thu May 28, 2009 4:35 am

Change the default control keys in the Application Properties tab.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Thu May 28, 2009 11:24 am

Thank heaps for the quick reply! :)

I had a look around and I must be blind because I can't see that anywhere and I'm talking the actual properties tab.

Cheers :)
Myles Blasonato.
B
1
G
3
Posts: 3
Reputation: 831

Post » Thu May 28, 2009 11:59 am

In the project bar, click your application, then check the properties bar :).
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Thu May 28, 2009 4:33 pm

If you're new, many of your initial questions may be answered by trying a tutorial.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Fri May 29, 2009 12:22 am

Thanks heaps Rich!! :)
I found it.
Hi Ashley, I did the Ghost shooter tutorial on youtube and he didn't cover it, I guess it was in another tutorial. I'll try the rest first before posting again :P

Cheers :)
Myles Blasonato.
B
1
G
3
Posts: 3
Reputation: 831

Post » Fri May 29, 2009 1:56 am

The video was just made by some guy. In the actual Ghost Shooter tutorial (link) there's a picture of the UI with the Properties tab clearly marked (link) right at the top of the first page. Further down the page, when it comes time to add the player, there's a sidebar that tells you how to change the controls:

[quote:3gi28r8d]Tip:
By default the movement uses the arrow keys. If you want to change this, select Application 1 in the Project Bar, and you can change the move left, right, up and down controls under the Controls header in the Property Grid.[/quote:3gi28r8d]

;)

I'd recommend going through the actual tut, and then reading up on some wiki articles.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests