Child Lock Feature???

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Nov 16, 2013 1:32 am

Any more ideas yet?bremen2013-11-16 01:33:13
Please Support Ocean Explorer.
http://igg.me/p/735007/x/6915815
B
14
S
4
G
3
Posts: 125
Reputation: 2,645

Post » Mon Nov 18, 2013 5:00 am

Please Support Ocean Explorer.
http://igg.me/p/735007/x/6915815
B
14
S
4
G
3
Posts: 125
Reputation: 2,645

Post » Fri Nov 22, 2013 6:04 pm

I give up, I'll just let my baby app sit in the google play store and not make any money.
Please Support Ocean Explorer.
http://igg.me/p/735007/x/6915815
B
14
S
4
G
3
Posts: 125
Reputation: 2,645

Post » Fri Nov 22, 2013 8:52 pm

Hey, you may remember posting in my thread recently about this very same thing. Here's a couple of new things I found. First there's this, which says something about SYSTEM_ALERT_WINDOW allowing a window to keep displayed on top. Second, there's this, which talks about reading logcat. I don't know a whole lot about logcat, but if reading it could be implemented in a plug-in for C2, then we can get somewhere with this :)
B
10
S
2
G
1
Posts: 64
Reputation: 1,032

Post » Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:16 pm

@sgtwombatstudios

O.K. thanks for the info, I'll look into it. I dont know much about making a plugin im not a javascript coder lol. but if someone else is that could implement this that would be sweet.
Please Support Ocean Explorer.
http://igg.me/p/735007/x/6915815
B
14
S
4
G
3
Posts: 125
Reputation: 2,645

Post » Sat Nov 23, 2013 4:49 am

well i was looking at some interesting things, some suggest to compile the project to eclipse. But as far as i can tell there is no way to do that in C2. Here was one I was very interested in. http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2162182/android-is-it-possible-to-disable-the-click-of-home-button?lq=1

"I'm pretty sure Toddler Lock just uses a BroadcastReciever and listens for Intent.ACTION_MAIN and the category Intent.CATEGORY_HOME - that's why when you first launch it, it tells you to check the "use this application as default" box, and makes you select toddler lock.

So, it's not really blocking the Home button at all, it's just setting itself up as the default broadcast receiver for:

Intent i = new Intent(Intent.ACTION_MAIN);
i.addCategory(Intent.CATEGORY_MAIN);
When you launch Toddler Lock, it probably sets an internal flag, and if you press the home button, it just brings the window to the front. If the flag is not set, it probably launches Launcher explicitly.

I hope that makes sense. It's just a theory, but I'm almost 100% sure that's how it's done.

share|improve this answer
answered Apr 16 '10 at 1:19

synic
11k16093
5           
Sorry to comment on this old one, but just to correct some confusion -- you cannot receive startActivity() Intents via a broadcast receiver. However, another activity can declare itself to be a HOME activity, which will then allow the user to choose a home screen implementation when they press the HOME button. CommonsWare Jun 28 '11 at 14:30"
Please Support Ocean Explorer.
http://igg.me/p/735007/x/6915815
B
14
S
4
G
3
Posts: 125
Reputation: 2,645

Post » Sat Nov 23, 2013 4:57 am

I also sent a E-Mail to Toddlerlock.com but I pretty sure there not gonna let there little secret out lol[URL][/URL]
Please Support Ocean Explorer.
http://igg.me/p/735007/x/6915815
B
14
S
4
G
3
Posts: 125
Reputation: 2,645

Post » Sat Nov 30, 2013 8:29 pm

Do you think it may be possible to use the Export to XDK and edit the code there? I will try to mess with it. I've never used the XDK before.
Please Support Ocean Explorer.
http://igg.me/p/735007/x/6915815
B
14
S
4
G
3
Posts: 125
Reputation: 2,645

Post » Mon Feb 03, 2014 11:56 am

@bremen
Very keen on this too, have you made any head way?
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

Post » Mon Feb 03, 2014 12:16 pm

I found this...
Animal Sounds with toddler lock

Slightly different to toddler lock in you drag a key to a lock.

When lock is activated, start a service, and stop it when lock is deactivated
The service checks the top running app, and if it is not games activity, the service launches game activity
From what I understand there was an issue that when the user clicks "home", it takes about 6 seconds before activity is launched again. To bypass this, when the service detects that another app is visible, it adds a top view (as an alert window) that covers the home screen for the few seconds it takes the app to re-launch.

Anyways, here is the code : Was updated dec 2013
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

PreviousNext

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ladjuric, plinkie, Syazanie Amirin and 4 guests