Chrome has become extremely laggy - Did the update break?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Jul 18, 2014 1:40 pm

Well our Space Blaster test still runs at a solid 60 FPS with minimal CPU usage (just 1-5%) so there is no obvious difference at all. You should be able to investigate further using the normal means of investigating performance problems, using the C2 debugger profiler and the Chrome dev tools profiler. If the difference is significant these tools should make it obvious what the performance problem is. This should always be the first thing you check as well, since there is very little value in commenting on a performance problem without any measurements.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,523
Reputation: 195,378

Post » Fri Jul 18, 2014 3:17 pm

Ashley wrote:No issues here. As ever for a first stop visit chrome://gpu and see what it says. Maybe the update blacklisted your graphics card/driver.

it says: GPU rasterization is whitelisted on N4, N5, N7 and Moto X: 362779
Disabled Features: gpu_rasterization

will this be solved with new drivers or better graphicscard ?
B
38
S
11
G
5
Posts: 485
Reputation: 5,340

Post » Fri Jul 18, 2014 6:31 pm

Hmm, I actually have GPU_rasterization disabled as well, could that be a problem? I didn't check if it was disabled beforehand. I don't think it's actually a graphics issue though since lowering the resolution doesn't help.
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,699

Post » Fri Jul 18, 2014 6:51 pm

The GPU_rasterization in general is disabled (except on the devices listed above) so that most certainly isnt the problem.
I can't confirm the performance problems.
@sqiddster till Chromium 36 will arrive onto Node-Webkit it will probably take a few months, and till then, i think it at least is fixed in Chromium itself,
so that would mean that if it is fixed in Chromium, we can fix it in NW without any problems (probably).
That results in, that it probably wont be a problem nor for you, nor for me.
After all, it doesnt seem to be a common problem, so what could be the cause for this?
- Conti
"It's done when it's done"

Shadows of War
Buy on Steam ;)
B
24
S
10
G
7
Posts: 253
Reputation: 4,931

Post » Fri Jul 18, 2014 11:48 pm

Chrome here says GPU rasterization is disabled as well but everything still runs smoothly. The bug indicates it's a feature only supported on Android at the moment. I would also guess it is unrelated.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,523
Reputation: 195,378

Post » Sat Jul 19, 2014 11:22 am

in the game im currently working on the debugger/profile says draw call: 0.6-1.1 events: ~0.5, but the fps is dropped to ~50 and the game is laggy

while in firefox its constant 60 fps, normally it was the other way around, chrome always performed better for me while firefox most times had some glitches and lag

@ashley spaceblaster test gets a score of 60 on firefrox here und 58 on chrome, that means it runs smooth but not as good as in firefox while my firefox always was a bit laggyer then chrome, especially when much stuff happens like in this test
B
38
S
11
G
5
Posts: 485
Reputation: 5,340

Post » Sat Jul 19, 2014 1:52 pm

To be fair, Space Blaster probably isn't a good benchmark on PC's anymore - absolutely anything should be able to run that fine. This problem only effects my performance intensive stuff.
B
92
S
31
G
24
Posts: 3,191
Reputation: 32,699

Post » Sat Jul 19, 2014 2:14 pm

My game has a smattering of physics objects rather than just a few basic sprites, and I agree that space blaster is a bit basic for systems testing. Interestingly in the debugger, when I change from Inspect to the Profile screen in Chrome, the fps marches up (from 30 to 50) and CPU use goes right down (50% to 15%). The layout doesn't have that many objects on it (170) and my laptop is super-powerful with an embarrassingly high spec. Meanwhile, in both Firefox and IE11, the same game plays in the debugger at a solid 60 fps with 12% cpu.
A big fan of JavaScript.
B
76
S
20
G
74
Posts: 2,245
Reputation: 46,464

Post » Sat Jul 19, 2014 2:43 pm

@coolodium thats because the inspect mode itself is very resource intensive
B
38
S
11
G
5
Posts: 485
Reputation: 5,340

Post » Sat Jul 19, 2014 2:48 pm

@fldr - of course, I just thought it was interesting because it seems so much more resource intensive in Chrome compared with the other two browsers.
A big fan of JavaScript.
B
76
S
20
G
74
Posts: 2,245
Reputation: 46,464

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests