[Chrome Mobile] Fullscreen on Mobile LAN doesnt work anymore

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Tue Feb 28, 2017 7:35 pm

Problem Description
Image
It simply doesn't work when previewing on LAN with a mobile phone. But works on Desktop.

+Updated Chrome Mobile and Chrome Desktop.

Attach a Capx
https://1drv.ms/u/s!AjcW2ueud6qp3AQBNBeHHVHUne3Q

Description of Capx
The event with Touch + Browser : Request for Fullscreen (Scale Outer).

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • Preview .capx on LAN.
  • Use Mobile Phone for playing.
  • Touch to request for fullscreen (scale outer)

Observed Result
It doesn't go full screen.

Expected Result
It should be in full screen.

Affected Browsers
  • Chrome Mobile: YES

Operating System and Service Pack
Windows 8.1 64 bit.
Android 6.1 Marshmallow
+Updated Chrome Mobile and Chrome Desktop.

Construct 2 Version ID
Construct 2 r243
The Things you can create is only limited by your imagination. If you don't have the skills then use your motivation as a natural force to exceed all expectations. Chadori RebornXD
B
65
S
21
G
90
Posts: 1,124
Reputation: 59,862

Post » Tue Feb 28, 2017 8:31 pm

This isn't actually a Construct 2 bug - it's because Chrome now requires HTTPS support to allow fullscreen mode. Chrome makes a special exception for localhost, but LAN IPs don't qualify. You can work around it using Chrome dev tools and a wired connection with port forwarding, which means you get a localhost address on the device too, but it takes a bit of setup.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,523
Reputation: 195,378

Post » Tue Feb 28, 2017 9:25 pm

Ashley wrote:This isn't actually a Construct 2 bug - it's because Chrome now requires HTTPS support to allow fullscreen mode. Chrome makes a special exception for localhost, but LAN IPs don't qualify. You can work around it using Chrome dev tools and a wired connection with port forwarding, which means you get a localhost address on the device too, but it takes a bit of setup.


This is a freaking disaster! So in other words, Preview on LAN is now worthless. :|
So now we have to export every time we have to preview on mobile, this makes things a hundred times harder.
I guess C3's mobile support is a great idea after all.
But more of C2's features is depreciating as time passes.
The Things you can create is only limited by your imagination. If you don't have the skills then use your motivation as a natural force to exceed all expectations. Chadori RebornXD
B
65
S
21
G
90
Posts: 1,124
Reputation: 59,862

Post » Tue Feb 28, 2017 9:37 pm

I'm still able to go full screen in mobile preview over lan.

However Im using C2 v242
and fyi my mobile chrome 55.0.2883.91

edit nothing to do with versions (mine was invoked using a button so just been playing around)

fullscreen dosent work with on any touch start

but it still works with a button click

so just have to put a button in while testing.
...
B
46
S
24
G
7
Posts: 319
Reputation: 8,201

Post » Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:00 pm

NetOne wrote:I'm still able to go full screen in mobile preview over lan.

However Im using C2 v242
and fyi my mobile chrome 55.0.2883.91

edit nothing to do with versions (mine was invoked using a button so just been playing around)

fullscreen dosent work with on any touch start

but it still works with a button click

so just have to put a button in while testing.


Hmm... Great news... I'll try it out.
@Ashley - I think this is worth noting somewhere.
The Things you can create is only limited by your imagination. If you don't have the skills then use your motivation as a natural force to exceed all expectations. Chadori RebornXD
B
65
S
21
G
90
Posts: 1,124
Reputation: 59,862

Post » Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:08 pm

Replace any touch start with any tap genture
Image
B
41
S
14
G
3
Posts: 24
Reputation: 4,085

Post » Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:33 pm

yes can confirm it also works with "on tap gesture"
all's good...

disable the missiles , take us back to DEFCON 5
...
B
46
S
24
G
7
Posts: 319
Reputation: 8,201

Post » Wed Mar 01, 2017 12:35 am

Copy that... Alpha-Niner-Delta.
Retrieving the missiles.

Revoke all commands.
The Things you can create is only limited by your imagination. If you don't have the skills then use your motivation as a natural force to exceed all expectations. Chadori RebornXD
B
65
S
21
G
90
Posts: 1,124
Reputation: 59,862

Post » Wed Mar 01, 2017 11:25 am

I don't know if they've already made the change or not, but it's certainly on their agenda so it most likely will happen in the next few releases.

I think it's an overreaction to call it a disaster - it just means preview-over-wifi is treated as HTTP preview, not HTTPS, so some of the security-sensitive features are disabled. There's also a workaround, by setting up port forwarding with Chrome dev tools.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,523
Reputation: 195,378

Post » Wed Mar 01, 2017 5:13 pm

I just put a button on on a debug layer along with everything else debug related like textboxes and such. When game is done i just remove the debug group in the eventsheet and the debug layer, then save it as a new seperate file for production.
B
33
S
10
G
6
Posts: 259
Reputation: 6,801

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests