Circle object

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Sun May 04, 2008 1:12 am

I would like to make a quick feature request. You know the Box object in Construct? I was wondering if you could possibly add a Circle object as well.

I was trying to make an RTS and one thing I was trying to do was make a green circle showing the attack radius of a bomb/nuke type attack. An object that can draw a circle (like how the box tool draws a box) would work wonders for this kind of situation, but as of right now, it doesn't exist.
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 153
Reputation: 1,756

Post » Sun May 04, 2008 1:54 am

I think Ash stated at some point there would be some additional 3D objects added... it's probably not going to be any time really soon though unfortunately.
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Sun May 04, 2008 1:59 am

No, no, no. I'm talking about the box object, NOT the 3D Box object. I need to an object that can draw a circle like the Box object draws a square.

If you're still confused, here:





I'm talking about this.

A circle version of that would be great for showing the attack radii of various weapons in an RTS game.

It's a pretty simple feature request. It shouldn't be too hard or take too long to do and could easily be added within the next update or so.
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 153
Reputation: 1,756

Post » Sun May 04, 2008 2:42 am

[quote="machrider":pf6mp164]No, no, no. I'm talking about the box object, NOT the 3D Box object. I need to an object that can draw a circle like the Box object draws a square.[/quote:pf6mp164]

Oh my bad I misunderstood what you were talking about... Does the circle diameter need to be dynamic? If not you could simply make a sprite object which is the size you need it to be. If the "blast area" can be "upgraded" or something like that, then yeah, perhaps a circle object would be handy otherwise you would end up with blurry enlarged sprite objects.
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Sun May 04, 2008 2:46 am

I saw myself wanting this the other day for something, as well.. But for now, you could always just make a sprite in a huge picture, and scale it down as you see fit, that way it is pretty flexible. Of course that might take up a lot more memory, but I guess this could just be a temporary workaround for it.
B
2
S
1
G
5
Posts: 54
Reputation: 1,508

Post » Sun May 04, 2008 2:49 am

[quote="Exomarc":26ula0hs]I saw myself wanting this the other day for something, as well.. But for now, you could always just make a sprite in a huge picture, and scale it down as you see fit, that way it is pretty flexible. Of course that might take up a lot more memory, but I guess this could just be a temporary workaround for it.[/quote:26ula0hs]

I guess it's that way it's "always been done" up until now... the way that TFG and MMF is so limited in terms of objects like this, you always had to improvise and this method is what I always used to use. As long as the circle diameter doesn't need to be changed then you don't even have to make it large and scale it down, you could just make it the size you need it and save that extra memory. :)
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Sun May 04, 2008 3:18 am

I tried that, it looked really ugly. The circle gets really blurry when scaled down and the results in general are not very pretty (quite an eyesore, in fact). Parts of the circle even begin to disappear as you scale the sprite down far enough.

A circle object would provide much better results. It be A LOT better looking (due to being dynamically resizable), in addition to being much more efficient.

Yes, I need to change the diameter, a lot. I would like weapons to be upgradeable in my RTS (according to what stat points the user upgrades them to). That is why I need a circle object that can draw (and redraw) itself correctly and dynamically like the box object does. Otherwise I would have just used a static sprite object instead.
B
2
S
2
G
4
Posts: 153
Reputation: 1,756

Post » Sun May 04, 2008 4:32 am

[quote="machrider":c56iimmf]Yes, I need to change the diameter, a lot. I would like weapons to be upgradeable in my RTS (according to what stat points the user upgrades them to). That is why I need a circle object that can draw (and redraw) itself correctly and dynamically like the box object does. Otherwise I would have just used a static sprite object instead.[/quote:c56iimmf]

You heard the man Ashley :D ;)

*cracks whip*

[size=50:c56iimmf](please)[/size:c56iimmf]
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Sun May 04, 2008 5:53 pm

Added to todo list.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Sun May 04, 2008 11:10 pm

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=930

Will that work for the time being?
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 310
Reputation: 2,120

Next

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests