Classic method of dropping through platforms: down + jump

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Fri Dec 18, 2009 7:09 am

How on earth can I do this? The biggest obstacle for me seems to be that I can't keep the character from jumping. What I initially tried was something like this:

MouseKeyboard: "Down" is down
MouseKeyboard: On "Jump" pressed
System: Trigger once
> PlayerFall through platforms ? Yes

But... I can't even see what sort of result, grossly wrong or not, that gives me because of the character jumping. Is there a way to do the classic down + jump way of dropping through a platform?
B
4
S
2
G
4
Posts: 164
Reputation: 1,878

Post » Fri Dec 18, 2009 8:09 am

[quote="Kisai":1d27b5mq]How on earth can I do this? The biggest obstacle for me seems to be that I can't keep the character from jumping. What I initially tried was something like this:

MouseKeyboard: "Down" is down
MouseKeyboard: On "Jump" pressed
System: Trigger once
> PlayerFall through platforms ? Yes

But... I can't even see what sort of result, grossly wrong or not, that gives me because of the character jumping. Is there a way to do the classic down + jump way of dropping through a platform?[/quote:1d27b5mq]

Platform behavior - allow down button
B
3
S
2
G
3
Posts: 628
Reputation: 2,531

Post » Fri Dec 18, 2009 8:24 am

That's enabled by default, and... not really what I wanted to do. ^^;
B
4
S
2
G
4
Posts: 164
Reputation: 1,878

Post » Fri Dec 18, 2009 12:08 pm

[code:109mk3u0]1)+ MouseKeyboard: Key Down arrow is down
-> Sprite2: Start ignoring user input
>+ MouseKeyboard: Key Shift is down
-> Sprite2: Fall through platforms ? Yes

2)+ MouseKeyboard: [negated] Key Down arrow is down
-> Sprite2: Fall through platforms ? No
-> Sprite2: Stop ignoring user input

[/code:109mk3u0]
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749

Post » Fri Dec 18, 2009 11:27 pm

Hmmm... I tried that, and... what I got was a Construct glitch. I start falling through platforms right away with jumping because it's detecting I'm holding down the jump button... But that's in a sub-event! It shouldn't be acting independantly on it's own... o_O
B
4
S
2
G
4
Posts: 164
Reputation: 1,878

Post » Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:12 am

In the platform object check the platform attribute, uncheck solid.

Nothing else needs to be done.
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 1,445
Reputation: 4,665


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests