Classic style menu in C2?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Mar 03, 2014 8:48 am

Creating menus and the likes is always going to be daunting, but I remember reading a CC forum post regarding using inherited layouts and sheets to design the menu system in, that way you can design it then call on it where ever in the game. Does C2 also do this, or is there another practice for it?

I was looking for the old CC posting regarding this topic, but I was reading it almost 24 hours ago and now I can't seem to find it.
B
25
S
6
G
6
Posts: 262
Reputation: 3,690

Post » Mon Mar 03, 2014 9:00 am

I use one layout, and various layers to make menus. You can set layers visible/ invisible etc. so you can cycle through menus by hiding them etc
also put the events for menu in group and activate/deactivate group so that user doesn't trigger an event accidently.
So menu is always on top of game, it is just invisible and deactivated until I activate, make it visible with button or whatever.

Some tutorial in tutorial section with basic menu and tabs etc.
Worth a look

Thisalso explains a bit.
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

Post » Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:21 am

Because I'm working on a MMO style game and hope to make it multiplayer, my menus cannot be pausing the game. They should be quickly accessible and more of a glance and see sort of system.

Check out my site to get an example of what I'm doing:

http://roracle.x10.mx

Not many skills programmed yet, and a few things I've changed, so don't take the game as anywhere near finished. To access the menu system, drag the scroll to the right, or drag your stats down.
B
25
S
6
G
6
Posts: 262
Reputation: 3,690

Post » Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:52 am

Lol, you misunderstand me :)

You make menu invisible on layer 18. You disable the menu buttons in group "Menu Buttons" So user clicking doesn't click the invisible buttons.
When user clicks menu button it does 2 things.
Make layer 18 visible and enable group "menu buttons"

What you are talking about is a global user interface GUI which I have on my last layer and use zoom to fill screen.
I have my event log, my health, my whatever I want in it. It is always active, always visible.
If I want me player to go to options screen then, I disable gui butons, and make gui layer invisible and same other way round so to speak.

You can have them pop out with mouse over or whatever you want. :)
I think the one example is pop out menu.

Edit Number something lol - nice mmo, looks good. Nice equiping of axe,shield, dagger etc.
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

Post » Mon Mar 03, 2014 12:05 pm

Whats wrong with your menu, it looks good? Maybe I not understanding the question?

Suggest a button to pop it out is always nice, and make the menu background less see through as it is hard to see with game behind.
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

Post » Mon Mar 03, 2014 12:40 pm

I'm saying I don't intend on having a pausable menu (like Final Fantasy or Zelda) but instead a place to see what all is happening without interrupting gameplay. The transparent skills menu is transparent because it's a quick menu, not meant to be kept out. But when it's out, it's transparent so the player can see what's happening in the game while the menu is out. (It was more transparent, so trust me when I say it's better at 75 opacity instead of 50 lol). It's just I've seen so many menu types out there and all of the examples I found here would have helped me out 10 years ago when I aspired to make zelda clones and stuff, but today innovation is lacking with menu's.

See, in my system, there will be another menu on the right for your equipment/inventory, and another at the bottom where the text currently is for a hotbar, etc. (the text will eventually be going away, but not for a long while. Misses, hits, crits will all be visual/audible and any typed text will be chat bubbles above player heads eventually.)
B
25
S
6
G
6
Posts: 262
Reputation: 3,690

Post » Mon Mar 03, 2014 12:42 pm

I guess I didn't have another question really, just brainstorming out loud since I don't really have anyone to bounce ideas around with.

But for the hotbar menu on bottom (not yet put in) I intend on having the skill list as it is, but adding little blue bubbles next to active skills, ones you can drag to the hot bar (like peace making or hide, etc). I will get rid of "hit A to attack" in favor of a button that refreshes based on your swing speed algorithm.

I remember one thing I wanted to ask. What did you mean a button to pop it out? I'm trying to minimize the interface as much as possible so I'd hate to have too much on screen. That's my problem with most MMO games is there are too many things to look at, and most of that comes from the developers trying to balance a game so they keep adding stuff. Look at WOW vs UO: WoW and UO are the same, but to make a class system, WOW had to offer a traditional leveling system (which we do not see in UO). So though you have skills that can be leveled, you are limited to weapon skills based on class, which my game won't be doing. Mine will be a sandbox, build your character how you want it, change it later by doing something else, that sort of thing.

If you guys haven't played Ultima Online, then you probably won't understand how my game will be working or how the menus should work/display for a modern approach to this game play style. Because of this, I recommend anyone interested in my game go play Ultima Online. There is a server called ABCUO and another classic server called T2A (The Second Age) and they are both free so you don't have to spend money to catch up with my mind. :P
B
25
S
6
G
6
Posts: 262
Reputation: 3,690

Post » Mon Mar 03, 2014 1:19 pm

The menu/ user interface is in no way a pause menu. It is a transparent or semi transparent layer that is higher up than the game layers.

A button. little button under your health next to scroll. with letter M for menu easier that dragging out the menu. Keep the drag as well, just another option. Or set key "m" to pull out the menu as well.

Trying to put everything on screen, even if 90% of it is hidden and accessed when needed is every developers headache.

Best of luck.

Edit: this is what I mean about user interface.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

Post » Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:25 pm

Ah, yes, that's a good idea about having a keyboard button (likely "M") to pop all menu's out. I should figure a way of allowing each to individually pop out, as well as adding an "on touch" auto-popout too.

Regarding the user interface: I think it will all be integrated into the menu system. As I said, the way the skills and the stats menu come from the left and top, the inventory/equip screen will pop out from the right, and the hotbar will pop out from the bottom.

The goal is to keep an area of game play visible, keeping the left and right side menu's semi-transparent so players can see mobs that may have spawned coming for them, or other players that are coming. I'm considering putting all the stats (the top menu) on the right side, and putting the more accessible and less gameplay-intrusive top menu to task as the inventory/equipment screen.

As for the bottom menu, the "hotbar" if you will, it will likely remain up at all times and should be exempt from the "hide all menus" function (but not from the "show all" in case the user personally hides the menu). The attack and jump button should be on the hotbar, but not able to be hidden with the bar, as it is a necessary feature. It should also look different than the rest of the hot bar. (The hotbar will contain skills or spells dragged from the skill list or spell books).

Text notifications will be limited to skill leveling and display it in a similar style as Elder Scrolls V did it, displaying your level progress. (No levels in my game, so it will show how much longer until a skill's governing stat is raised by a point.)

If you have any tips based on the things I've mentioned here, please tell me. I'm not beyond rearranging the menus because it's all on the fly anyways. The game I pretty much have written out and semi-planned as much as a one-man army can, but menu's were defiantly an afterthought.

I appreciate the help you have given, and any you may yet enlighten me on further.
B
25
S
6
G
6
Posts: 262
Reputation: 3,690

Post » Tue Mar 04, 2014 5:00 pm

DUTOIT wrote:...


Okay so just to clarify, in case I missed something:

Can the menu be designed on one layout and called on from other layouts? If so I must have missed how this is done.

OR

Do I have to put a menu in each layout I use?
B
25
S
6
G
6
Posts: 262
Reputation: 3,690

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests