close an app

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:33 pm

I want to make a button that closes the app
B
40
S
11
G
7
Posts: 514
Reputation: 9,626

Post » Mon Aug 05, 2013 5:37 pm

@sosensible,

The Browser object has a close action if that helps!
B
33
S
6
G
7
Posts: 494
Reputation: 8,252

Post » Mon Aug 05, 2013 7:25 pm

thanks i'll try it
B
40
S
11
G
7
Posts: 514
Reputation: 9,626

Post » Mon Aug 05, 2013 9:40 pm

does anyone know if that will work for tizen?
B
40
S
16
G
8
Posts: 476
Reputation: 8,120

Post » Tue Aug 06, 2013 8:04 pm

@sosensible
@humanescape
@Blacksmith

What about if it is exported to a .APK via cocoon?
I've just had a look and no luck?

I suppose you could 'back' out through the android key.. but what about iOS? It'd look fairly trashy, surely; having to 'home' out of it then close it through the multi-tasking menu?
B
20
S
7
G
4
Posts: 322
Reputation: 4,521

Post » Tue Aug 06, 2013 8:32 pm

@Sulli I've never seen a single app on iOS where you could close it through the app.
B
46
S
14
G
7
Posts: 603
Reputation: 8,096

Post » Tue Aug 06, 2013 8:49 pm

[QUOTE=EncryptedCow] @Sulli I've never seen a single app on iOS where you could close it through the app.[/QUOTE]
B
9
S
2
G
2
Posts: 59
Reputation: 1,024

Post » Tue Aug 06, 2013 9:59 pm

@EncryptedCow
@Hoyer

Just moved over from android! It seems weird! In fact I could've sworn some apps do.. but after looking through those that I have.. they don't!

If it is normal then that is fine, thanks for the replies and put a worry to rest :-)
B
20
S
7
G
4
Posts: 322
Reputation: 4,521

Post » Tue Aug 06, 2013 10:02 pm

@Sulli

Well all depending on the code some apps tends to make the app "crash". Whether or not this could be provoked I can't tell you Hoyer2013-08-06 22:03:15
B
9
S
2
G
2
Posts: 59
Reputation: 1,024

Post » Wed Aug 07, 2013 9:56 am

@Sulli,

As @EncryptedCow & @Hoyer pointed out, this is not normally the way iOS apps handle closing.

If you find other situations where the "Browser -> close" option doesn't work for you. The "Browser" object also has an "Execute JavaScript" action. So you could use the "window.close();" command instead.

Hope that helps :)
B
33
S
6
G
7
Posts: 494
Reputation: 8,252

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests