[closed] Umbra... Now available on Steam

Show us your works in progress and request feedback

Post » Thu May 21, 2015 8:29 am

Oh no @spongehammer!! It appears that my tweaking gravity has made the flaming pipes impossible :!: . I thought I'd caught all of the affected areas...!

Give me a while and I'll fix it - I'm glad you like the rest though - thank you :).
I only occasionally visit - I'm learning C# for Unity, but c2 is still a respectable game engine imo....
B
71
S
18
G
65
Posts: 2,196
Reputation: 41,527

Post » Thu May 21, 2015 9:00 am

OK @spongehammer, I think I've un-f>>>>d it! Let me know if you encounter anything else that's a little bit impossible :). I am planning on adding key change options at a later date - it's normally one of those logic setups that I dread so I put it off until everything else is done, but I'll probably do that over the next week if you don't like how I've set it up...

If you find that the game save logic doesn't work then you might have to clear cache and start again (!) but for now you can keyboard number-key shortcut to the various spawn positions if there's something you want to look at again.

Keyboard 0 to 6 - shortcut to reset position
NumPad 0 - clear browser cache

Thanks again!
I only occasionally visit - I'm learning C# for Unity, but c2 is still a respectable game engine imo....
B
71
S
18
G
65
Posts: 2,196
Reputation: 41,527

Post » Fri May 22, 2015 10:27 pm

May I present user-configurable controls! Just for you, @spongehammer :). That was way harder to implement than it should have been. lol, having small people continuously breaking my concentration didn't help....
I only occasionally visit - I'm learning C# for Unity, but c2 is still a respectable game engine imo....
B
71
S
18
G
65
Posts: 2,196
Reputation: 41,527

Post » Fri May 22, 2015 11:39 pm

@Colludium

What a gentleman :) . Thanks
B
47
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,097
Reputation: 11,180

Post » Sat May 23, 2015 4:28 pm

@Colludium

Er.. how do i alter them. Cant see any options. I have refreshed the cache a few times too ? I am sure its me just being a spud :)
B
47
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,097
Reputation: 11,180

Post » Sat May 23, 2015 5:13 pm

@spongehammer - lol - I guess I need to make my instructions slightly less unclear!!

Firstly, just confirm you're running demo v1.0.0.54? That's the one that's loaded in my dropbox folder and is the latest demo version. Once that's checked, on the start-controls page just press the key you wish to change (ie Up Arrow) and it should become highlighted and flash, then select the new key you want to replace it with... It should stop you from doubling up controls etc.

If that doesn't work, pressing Num 0 will delete the cache, just in case the old json has corrupted my rather poor logic. If you're trying to use Num 0 as a control key then that might be a problem... lol. I've just discovered that the number key sortcuts don't work in Firefox.... but they are ok in Chrome and IE. I love browser technology ;).
I only occasionally visit - I'm learning C# for Unity, but c2 is still a respectable game engine imo....
B
71
S
18
G
65
Posts: 2,196
Reputation: 41,527

Post » Sat May 23, 2015 6:00 pm

Right i have sorted that now. At least on Chrome ( Firefox still insists on using the older version ). Bit of a problem when you die after crossing the collapsing bridge right at the start. When you re-start the bridge has gone and there is no way to proceed.
B
47
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,097
Reputation: 11,180

Post » Sat May 23, 2015 6:50 pm

Uh oh.... That shouldn't happen! Let me do some checking and I'll get back to you....
I only occasionally visit - I'm learning C# for Unity, but c2 is still a respectable game engine imo....
B
71
S
18
G
65
Posts: 2,196
Reputation: 41,527

Post » Sat May 23, 2015 7:45 pm

Mmmm, @spongehammer, although that shouldn't happen there was one area of my code that was weak and could have caused problems (although I'm not sure it would cause the missing bridge problem). I have adjusted the on-spawn code and hopefully you should never find the bridge down if you spawn from the start. It might have been a mismatch between the game-save data and the in-game loaded data being out of sync, caused by poor event triggering on my part. Could you please let me know if this still happens? Version number now 1.0.0.56. Cheers.
I only occasionally visit - I'm learning C# for Unity, but c2 is still a respectable game engine imo....
B
71
S
18
G
65
Posts: 2,196
Reputation: 41,527

Post » Sat May 23, 2015 7:52 pm

still respawn at the beginning without the ark. @Colludium
Image Image
B
21
S
12
G
127
Posts: 868
Reputation: 66,189

PreviousNext

Return to Works in Progress/Feedback Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest