Cluckles' Adventure - platform game

Show us your completed creations made in Construct 2

Post » Fri Dec 30, 2016 11:07 pm

bambo wrote:I'm playing on Motorola Moto E 2 (Android 6.0). Performance is very good.

Hi @bambo thanks for telling me, thats good to know. So far feedback on performance has been overwhelmingly positive, which is a relief.

bambo wrote:It took me a while to complete 6th level. Then I got stuck on the 12th level. I couldn't go through these crazy plants firing from the right side on the third floor. Now I'm on the 14th.

If you are having trouble finding the last chick in a level its probably because it's hiding in a secret area, so look for hidden openings in the walls / floors / ceilings.
Tip: Butterflies tell you if a secret is near ;)

bambo wrote:I wonder if it wasn't a good idea to implement some checkpoints (which the game restarts from after death) in harder or longer level so that player wouldn't have to repeat the same things many times till he come to the point that is a challenge for him.

Well the game is meant to be challenging in the way that Super Meat Boy is challenging. For each level you need to remember the location of obstacles and collectables, then use fine control and timing to navigate through the level without dying. So the game is designed specifically to be challenging like that.. Having checkpoints would make it a different kind of game.
Later in the game as the levels get longer the player is able to find shields and armor which give you additional hitpoints, so you dont die instantly. So that gives your more chances to make it through longer levels.

But even though I designed it to be challenging I think I still made it too hard lol! I wonder if anyone has made it to the Castle levels yet? (lev 37+).

Once Ive ironed all the bugs out of Cluckles' Adventure I'm planning to make another platformer that would have checkpoints and the player would start with 3 lives etc..

bambo wrote:There's some issue with ads displaying. I can see some of them but quite many times something goes wrong and freezes game and I need to press pause button and restart the game to keep playing.

Ok this is a problem. This bug was reported by another user previously and I thought I had fixed it.

The way it *should* work is, every 8th time the player dies an ad is shown. The first 2 ads will be static ads (like just a static image), the 3rd ad should be a video.

Can you please provide some more detail about this? So it happens on player death, the game doesn't restart? Does anything show on the screen? Like a loading bar as if an advertisement is trying to load?
When you notice this bug is your device connected to the internet or offline? If online are you connected by wi-fi or cellular data?

It's probably more likely to happen if you have a poor internet connection and the ad isn't able to load, but even if an ad fails to load the game shouldn't hang, the level should restart.

Let me know and ill try to fix this in the next update.

bambo wrote:I'm about to implement for the first time ads in my game and put it in google store. Could you tell me which ads service and wrapper do you use? Did you follow some instructions which you could give link to?

Yes I am using the Cranberry Cordova plugins for ads, iAP and achievements.
I use the Cordova Chartboost plugin for ads. It was very easy to get it working. You need to set up an account on the Chartboost website.
Im using XDK to build the game, but cocoon.io is also very good. I tested extensively and I can confirm that Cordova Chartboost also works on cocoon.
I dont think there was a specific tutorial I followed to set up the Chartboost plugin but the examples posted by AndreasR are very useful. If you download the 'Cocoon Chartboost' example it demonstrates how to use the Cordova Charboost plugin. Even though he has optimized it for Cocoon you can use it for XDK as well.
Last edited by Artpunk on Sat Dec 31, 2016 5:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
B
74
S
52
G
62
Posts: 406
Reputation: 39,080

Post » Fri Dec 30, 2016 11:10 pm

imothep85 wrote:not compatible with Alcatel one

So Alcatel OneTouch? Is it running Android? If so what version of Android?
When you say it's not compatible, can you give more detail please?
B
74
S
52
G
62
Posts: 406
Reputation: 39,080

Post » Sat Dec 31, 2016 7:28 am

bambo wrote:There's some issue with ads displaying. I can see some of them but quite many times something goes wrong and freezes game and I need to press pause button and restart the game to keep playing.


Hey @bambo I was able to recreate the bug you described. Question.. when you noticed the problem were you in a location where your phone had poor internet connection?

This bug *should* be fixed in the latest update. Any chance you could test in the same conditions where you noticed the problem before? And let me know if the problem persists?

Thanks!
B
74
S
52
G
62
Posts: 406
Reputation: 39,080

Post » Sun Jan 01, 2017 4:36 pm

Artpunk wrote:But even though I designed it to be challenging I think I still made it too hard lol! I wonder if anyone has made it to the Castle levels yet? (lev 37+).

Yes, it's really hard. At least I am the person who managed to get to lev 37+ (precisely 41st and it might be my last one because so far it seems hard as hell to get it through). I find it good pro game but making it easier and maybe with less levels (let's say 20 or even less – when I was on 24th or something like this which was another hard level I thought „Oh my goodness, I won't make it to the Castle.”) between Valley and Castles episodes could make it really good game with better opportunities for earning money.

Artpunk wrote:Can you please provide some more detail about this? So it happens on player death, the game doesn't restart? Does anything show on the screen? Like a loading bar as if an advertisement is trying to load?
When you notice this bug is your device connected to the internet or offline? If online are you connected by wi-fi or cellular data?

I use my stable Internet connection through wi-fi. I haven't had any problem with it but I've checked on http://www.pingtest.net if it could be a reason. I got B grade which is very good and it shouldn't cause any issues.

When ad is supposed to be displayed but it doesn't show up cock just die, butterfly in the background keep flying, squirrels keep running and that's all. I don't see any attempt of displaying ad. I need to press 'pause' button and 'replay' button to restart the game (let's name such situation as freeze). When I'm offline there's no such freeze. Here's the result of my attempts to display ads:

YESTERDAY
16 (deaths) – freeze
8 – freeze
8 – video
16 – freeze
8 – freeze
8 – video
8 – freeze
8 – freeze
8 – video
8 – freeze
8 – freeze
8 – video

TODAY
8 – image
8 – freeze
8 – video
8 – image
8 – freeze
8 – video
16 – freeze
8 – freeze
8 – video
8 – freeze

Seems it happens in completely random way.

Thanks for letting me know which ads services and wrappers you've used :)
B
8
S
3
G
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 705

Post » Sun Jan 01, 2017 10:50 pm

bambo wrote:When ad is supposed to be displayed but it doesn't show up cock just die, butterfly in the background keep flying, squirrels keep running and that's all. I don't see any attempt of displaying ad. I need to press 'pause' button and 'replay' button to restart the game (let's name such situation as freeze). When I'm offline there's no such freeze. Here's the result of my attempts to display ads:

YESTERDAY
16 (deaths) – freeze
8 – freeze
8 – video
16 – freeze
8 – freeze
8 – video
8 – freeze
8 – freeze
8 – video
8 – freeze
8 – freeze
8 – video

TODAY
8 – image
8 – freeze
8 – video
8 – image
8 – freeze
8 – video
16 – freeze
8 – freeze
8 – video
8 – freeze


Thanks for this information... Damn this is annoying. Seems like it's having a problem showing the static ads, but the video ads don't have as much trouble. Well if you are connected via wi-fi there should be no problem preloading the ads.

@bambo, did you update to the latest version of the game? I tried to make a fix in version 2.0.0.3. You can check you have latest version by going to the second credits page, version number is in bottom right corner.
Image
Last edited by Artpunk on Sun Jan 01, 2017 11:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
74
S
52
G
62
Posts: 406
Reputation: 39,080

Post » Sun Jan 01, 2017 11:20 pm

bambo wrote:Yes, it's really hard. At least I am the person who managed to get to lev 37+ (precisely 41st and it might be my last one because so far it seems hard as hell to get it through). I find it good pro game but making it easier and maybe with less levels (let's say 20 or even less – when I was on 24th or something like this which was another hard level I thought „Oh my goodness, I won't make it to the Castle.”) between Valley and Castles episodes could make it really good game with better opportunities for earning money.


Well done on making it to the Castle! The Castle levels are the hardest. The 3rd environment is easier to start with, with difficulty gradually increasing again towards the end of the game. But if you can get past the Castle, you'll have a period of easier levels.

Here is some help with Level41. There is a suit of armor and a shield that should help you progress through the level. In fact, getting to the exit shouldn't be too difficult, but getting to the upper and lower extremities to get the chicks will make it harder.

Image
B
74
S
52
G
62
Posts: 406
Reputation: 39,080

Post » Mon Jan 02, 2017 11:18 am

The previous results come from version 2.0.0.2. When I saw your post today I just uninstalled Cluckles' Adventure from my mobile and installed the new version from Google Play – so I've lost all my progress and I was on the 43rd level :( Then I realized that I probably should go to Google Play before infalling and choose 'update' button. It's how things go when you do something before drinking morning coffee.

But hey. Now it seems to be working way better. The ratio between displayed/not displayed is better, there's no such freeze and the game restarts itself when ad can't show up :)
B
8
S
3
G
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 705

Post » Mon Jan 02, 2017 12:15 pm

bambo wrote:The previous results come from version 2.0.0.2. When I saw your post today I just uninstalled Cluckles' Adventure from my mobile and installed the new version from Google Play – so I've lost all my progress and I was on the 43rd level :( Then I realized that I probably should go to Google Play before infalling and choose 'update' button. It's how things go when you do something before drinking morning coffee.

Oh No! :o :shock: You were progressing so far into the game! I was using you as my test case to see how far you got :lol:
Yeah all you need to do is go to the GooglePlay store and press 'Update'. The latest version of the game would install and you'd keep all your game progress.. Sorry that happened to you bambo!

As for the bug we were discussing. Ok so those results you posted were from the previous version. 2.0.0.2 Didnt have the fix.

bambo wrote:But hey. Now it seems to be working way better. The ratio between displayed/not displayed is better, there's no such freeze and the game restarts itself when ad can't show up :)


Thats fantastic! Im very happy to hear that. Thanks heaps for letting me know. Sounds like my fix in 2.0.0.3 has worked.
B
74
S
52
G
62
Posts: 406
Reputation: 39,080

Post » Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:53 am

I LOVE YOUR GAME! I have so many questions...

1. How you export? Cordova? Phonegap?

2. How you did work Google Play Achiviements? I'm using cordova and just dont work to me :/
B
10
S
1
G
1
Posts: 23
Reputation: 1,517

Post » Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:54 am

I will love make a video about your game :) Can you send me a steam key? Its so cute and hardcore.
My channel is: youtube.com/365indies
B
10
S
1
G
1
Posts: 23
Reputation: 1,517

PreviousNext

Return to Completed Creations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest