Cocoon io doesn't support Construct 2 Anymore

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue May 30, 2017 2:40 am

Stop using Cocoon io. It doesn't support Construct 2 Version 244. Even though I uploaded a game, compiled in cocoon io....that was made with Construct 2 244. This must have just happened.

You can't use Cocoon io if you're using Construct 2 240+. Unless you want to downgrade Construct 2 to 239. Construct 2 240+ doesn't work with Cocoon io

From a message from someone:
jance04051h
I told you, v240 and above is no longer supported by cocoon.io because v240+ of construct uses webgl2 already. That what causes the black screen. I've been there on your situation too so what i did was is to downgrade the version of construct to v239"

https://forums.cocoon.io/t/splash-screen-issues/5428/12

^ The forums post talking about it. that doesn't make any sense because i Just put a game onto google play, compiled with Cocoon io, that was made with Construct 2 version 244.
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue May 30, 2017 4:31 am

The thing is, WEBGL isn't the only form of rendering Construct 2 can do so IDK why the statement was even made
Cocoon io doesn't support WebGL, out of the blue, just like that, then you're going to lose every single person who uses Construct 2, and that's a lot of developers. You're basically saying to people, you have to not be able to use all of Construct 2's features in order to use Cocoon io.


From my perspective, tho this just seems like a big mess up, Cause the amount of actual positive support they show towards Construct 2, it would be strange for them to suddenly stop supporting WebGL to sabotage construct 2 games.

Image
B
28
S
17
G
46
Posts: 73
Reputation: 25,641

Post » Tue May 30, 2017 4:49 am

That's the official word, that's all I'm getting out of them. I have a game on google play that was built using Construct 2 244 and compiled with Cocoon io. It was working a few days ago. I even uploaded something from 2 weeks ago, also Construct 2 244 and Cocoon io, and that didn't work either. And it worked perfectly with Cocoon io 2 weeks ago. The one from 2 weeks ago i know for a fact worked before, and now it doesn't when compiled when Cocoon io.

I don't why, but that's the official word. Cocoon io doesn't support Construct 2 anymore. Construct 2 can't be used with Cocoon io unless it's version 239.

Cocoon io doesn't work with Construct 2 anymore, unless you want to use Version 239. That's the official statement from the people at Cocoon io.
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue May 30, 2017 4:51 am

From a message from someone:
jance04051h
I told you, v240 and above is no longer supported by cocoon.io because v240+ of construct uses webgl2 already. That what causes the black screen. I've been there on your situation too so what i did was is to downgrade the version of construct to v239"

https://forums.cocoon.io/t/splash-screen-issues/5428/12

That's what they said. They're the ones who said that they don't support Webgl. they're the ones who told me that the only way it will work is if its Construct 2 239. They said that, not me.
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue May 30, 2017 4:52 am

I didn't say any of this, they did. All I keep hearing out of them is that Cocoon io doesn't work with Construct 2 240+. Idk when that happened. It must have been the past few days cause a few days ago it was working.
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue May 30, 2017 5:02 am

jance04054h
Try to downgrade you construct 2 version into v239 below

jance040514h
What version of construct 2 are u using? if v240+ then you'll gonna have black screen because cocoon no longer support webgl2

https://forums.cocoon.io/t/splash-screen-issues/5428

That's what they're saying. Unless Scirra does its own compiler thing that leaves Phone gap. Because Intel XDX isn't doing it anymore and Cocoon io doesn't support Construct 2 anymore.
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue May 30, 2017 5:05 am

Phoenixbowman wrote:jance04054h
Try to downgrade you construct 2 version into v239 below

jance040514h
What version of construct 2 are u using? if v240+ then you'll gonna have black screen because cocoon no longer support webgl2

https://forums.cocoon.io/t/splash-screen-issues/5428

That's what they're saying. Unless Scirra does its own compiler thing that leaves Phone gap. Because Intel XDX isn't doing it anymore and Cocoon io doesn't support Construct 2 anymore.


WEBGL 2 isnt the only thing that construct 2 uses, you can fall back to The canvas renderer, the only time you would be at a disadvantage is it you were actually using WebGL effects in your game
B
28
S
17
G
46
Posts: 73
Reputation: 25,641

Post » Tue May 30, 2017 5:09 am

I'm using Cocoon io's Canvas+ when i build my game, because of the plugins I'm using Canvas+ is required.

I'm switching to Phonegap. I need to update the game, and Cocoon io has gone fail whale, legit. The game i have does have WebGL effects. I hope the people at Cocoon io are happy with basically saying "F U" to people who use Construct 2.
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue May 30, 2017 5:15 am

It's a darn shame, Cocoon io was really good. But if they want to lose out on a butt-ton of customers, Construct 2 developers who can't use their service anymore, then that's on them.
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue May 30, 2017 10:06 am

For the record, if you're using Canvas+, we've not officially supported that since early 2015. It's kind of surprising if it still even works at all.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,519
Reputation: 195,361

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests