CocoonIO - Help, Ressources & free capx examples

Discussion of tools and resources for game developers

Post » Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:34 am

SamRock wrote:@AndreasR

I "converted" to CocoonIO last night. I must say the performance is AWESOME!

Love the fact that almost all my plugins are working fine. I am just having issue with the XML object , which I use to read "Level UP" information and data.

Is there an issue with XML on CocoonIO? If so what's the work around? Please help me.


I'm glad to hear that you are satisifed with it.
About the XML plugin. This is actually not a bug, it's just not supported with Canvas+ (WebView+ works fine though).

You find a list what is supported and what isn't, here:
https://shatter-box.com/knowledgebase/s ... -supported
Image Image iTunes: Match3 | Google Play: Match3
B
102
S
37
G
31
Posts: 1,162
Reputation: 28,879

Post » Sun Aug 14, 2016 10:32 am

AndreasR wrote:
SamRock wrote:@AndreasR

I "converted" to CocoonIO last night. I must say the performance is AWESOME!

Love the fact that almost all my plugins are working fine. I am just having issue with the XML object , which I use to read "Level UP" information and data.

Is there an issue with XML on CocoonIO? If so what's the work around? Please help me.


I'm glad to hear that you are satisifed with it.
About the XML plugin. This is actually not a bug, it's just not supported with Canvas+ (WebView+ works fine though).

You find a list what is supported and what isn't, here:
https://shatter-box.com/knowledgebase/s ... -supported


Thanks for the reply!! What are my other options? What can I use as DB to retrieve "Level Up" information as I used to store in my XML file?
Create your own Isometric Runner Game using C2:

Image

Check out my game "Last of the Survivors":
Play Store
App Store
B
60
S
14
G
2
Posts: 427
Reputation: 5,564

Post » Sun Aug 14, 2016 10:40 am

Thanks for the reply!! What are my other options? What can I use as DB to retrieve "Level Up" information as I used to store in my XML file?


I'm not sure because I don't know your code. But there is away to work around that for sure.
I also have levels and a level selection in my games and I do use an array to handle it.
Image Image iTunes: Match3 | Google Play: Match3
B
102
S
37
G
31
Posts: 1,162
Reputation: 28,879

Post » Mon Oct 10, 2016 6:06 am

Snikoggs wrote:
AndreasR wrote:@Snikoggs

Awesome!


I have just compiled my game, uploaded to Google Play and downloaded it on my phone. But it does not display in full screen; it only displays on the top corner of my screen.

I have tried everything on this page https://shatter-box.com/knowledgebase/c ... ing-fixes/, but it still does not work. I have used Canvas+ and Webview+,but nothing.

Please help.


Have you found an answer for this? The same is happening to me:

http://i.imgur.com/lh4phEr.png

The game screen stays on bottom left though. This only seems to happen only in Canvas+ mode, Webview and Webview+ work just fine). I did test my game with CocoonIO before and it worked fine so I'm not sure if something changed in C2 or CocoonIO.
B
125
S
43
G
41
Posts: 849
Reputation: 28,260

Post » Mon Oct 10, 2016 7:09 am

andreyin wrote:
Snikoggs wrote:
AndreasR wrote:@Snikoggs

Awesome!


I have just compiled my game, uploaded to Google Play and downloaded it on my phone. But it does not display in full screen; it only displays on the top corner of my screen.

I have tried everything on this page https://shatter-box.com/knowledgebase/c ... ing-fixes/, but it still does not work. I have used Canvas+ and Webview+,but nothing.

Please help.


Have you found an answer for this? The same is happening to me:

http://i.imgur.com/lh4phEr.png

The game screen stays on bottom left though. This only seems to happen only in Canvas+ mode, Webview and Webview+ work just fine). I did test my game with CocoonIO before and it worked fine so I'm not sure if something changed in C2 or CocoonIO.



Hi,
Yes, please see here.

https://shatter-box.com/knowledgebase/t ... en-scaling

Regards
Andy
Image Image iTunes: Match3 | Google Play: Match3
B
102
S
37
G
31
Posts: 1,162
Reputation: 28,879

Post » Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:57 pm

@AndreasR
Thanks for the help! The "Fullscreen scaling" option was indeed set to low quality. Gonna test it now.

Edit: Couldn't get it to work, not even with a new, simple project without anything on it. All settings are as described and I've added the "|| this.isCocoonJs"...
B
125
S
43
G
41
Posts: 849
Reputation: 28,260

Post » Mon Oct 10, 2016 3:29 pm

andreyin wrote:@AndreasR
Thanks for the help! The "Fullscreen scaling" option was indeed set to low quality. Gonna test it now.

Edit: Couldn't get it to work, not even with a new, simple project without anything on it. All settings are as described and I've added the "|| this.isCocoonJs"...


You're welcome @andreyin
What WebView engine do you use at cocoon? Try to set it to Canvas+. This issue only happens on WebView (even if it shouldn't).
Also make sure that you have WebGL enabled at your C2 project.

Regards
Andy
Image Image iTunes: Match3 | Google Play: Match3
B
102
S
37
G
31
Posts: 1,162
Reputation: 28,879

Post » Mon Oct 10, 2016 5:52 pm

Hi Andy,

It does not seem to work with Canvas+.
It only works with Webview and Webview+.

Not even a simple project (a single sprite on the layout) worked. I tried using all the settings you've recommended and adding the "|| this.isCocoonJS" line on the right place..

Are you using the latest C2 version? And what do you have set the Cocoon version, the latest one?

Should I export the game as a CocoonJS project, a Cordova project or a HTML5 project (then zip it)?

Thanks

edit: could you try out this apk? It's just a blue background and a purple sprite over it. In here, the screen keeps flashing non stop and the purple sprite only shows on the bottom left (in the code, the purpe square should be over most of the screen).

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AuQM7MihYyx4hJsl0_9nhhM1EloXvw
B
125
S
43
G
41
Posts: 849
Reputation: 28,260

Post » Mon Oct 10, 2016 6:08 pm

andreyin wrote:Hi Andy,

It does not seem to work with Canvas+.
It only works with Webview and Webview+.

Not even a simple project (a single sprite on the layout) worked. I tried using all the settings you've recommended and adding the "|| this.isCocoonJS" line on the right place..

Are you using the latest C2 version? And what do you have set the Cocoon version, the latest one?

Should I export the game as a CocoonJS project, a Cordova project or a HTML5 project (then zip it)?

Thanks

edit: could you try out this apk? It's just a blue background and a purple sprite over it. In here, the screen keeps flashing non stop and the purple sprite only shows on the bottom left (in the code, the purpe square should be over most of the screen).

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AuQM7MihYyx4hJsl0_9nhhM1EloXvw


Hi,

I'm using Canvas+ on my own and it's always working fine.
You find many free examples here
andy-s-freebies-store-items-giveaways-and-more_t182509

can you try one of them? I'm not quite sure why this is happening on your end but I assume it's just a setting issue.

You also find a guide for Construct 2 and CocoonIO here

I also made a capx template with the settings I use. You can download it for free here.
https://shatter-box.com/knowledgebase/c ... -settings/

Just scroll down to the end of the post.
I'm sorry I only have an iPhone at the moment. So I can't test your apk file.

Regards
Andy
Image Image iTunes: Match3 | Google Play: Match3
B
102
S
37
G
31
Posts: 1,162
Reputation: 28,879

Post » Mon Oct 10, 2016 7:28 pm

Hi once again,

Apparently the problem is with my phone. Tried it with your template and got this error:

http://i.imgur.com/CDKU8Gv.png

My phone did work with Canvas+ before (since I have tested my game on it several times before) so I'm not sure what's going on..

edit: Oops. Searched around a bit more and apparently CocoonJS isn't compatible with CyanogenMod, which is what I'm using in my phone.

edit2: Ok, now this is driving me insane. I tried it on another phone and got the same exact error. Only this phone isn't rooted or has a custom rom installed. It's a Samsung Galaxy Grand Prime (SM-G531H) running Android 5.1.1.

Tried both my own game doing the fixes described and one of @AndreasR 's templates (CocoonOpenURL).

Now I'm at a loss - and I'm sure my game worked just fine on my phone at least a couple months ago in this same rom.

Edit3: Finally I got it working on both phones. I deleted the entire project from Cocoon.IO, then exported my game with the Cordova option and added the "|| this.isCocoonJS" in c2runtime.js. This resetted all the options so I had to turn on Canvas+ again. Tested it and it's working.
B
125
S
43
G
41
Posts: 849
Reputation: 28,260

PreviousNext

Return to Tools and Resources

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests