CocoonJS 1.4 update

Discussion of tools and resources for game developers

Post » Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:25 pm

I guess everyone needs to keep calm, report bugs and everything is going to be OK.
B
66
S
25
G
30
Posts: 436
Reputation: 18,182

Post » Wed Jul 03, 2013 12:28 am

@Eisenhans you talk about calm, have you seen your avatar? Totally Wired!
B
31
S
8
G
5
Posts: 436
Reputation: 5,836

Post » Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:08 am

Have you guys tried to strip the new spritefont out of your projects?

I tested several of my projects (no non-stock plugins, no new spritefont, exported from r136) and so far they all work.

@czar That's how I actually look, just with a bald dome and black instead of red :|

B
66
S
25
G
30
Posts: 436
Reputation: 18,182

Post » Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:48 am

I am in the process of removing sprite font at the moment. It will take a few days. 30+ layouts and many using sprite font in complicated ways.
B
31
S
8
G
5
Posts: 436
Reputation: 5,836

Post » Wed Jul 03, 2013 2:41 am

[QUOTE=Eisenhans] Have you guys tried to strip the new spritefont out of your projects?

I tested several of my projects (no non-stock plugins, no new spritefont, exported from r136) and so far they all work.

@czar That's how I actually look, just with a bald dome and black instead of red :|

[/QUOTE]

Thanks for the heads up Eisenhans, I'm going to try this out tomorrow.
B
6
Posts: 20
Reputation: 815

Post » Wed Jul 03, 2013 4:58 am

1.4
I have no problems with the old spritefont never have had any, welll sometimes the text turns transparent.
My biggest issues are that the new cocoonjs seems to be loading content and then forgetting the loaded content and then loading the content again. This causes annoying lag everytime something happens. I would prefer the old physics because my old exported projects are using the old physics engine and they all work perfectly. This new native box2D physics is breaking my project and making it fuction differently compared to what I see in Construct2 on PC. It will be impossible for me to make it work properly and now it's smooth and slow missing all the collisions(I would like @ahley to add option to use the web based box2D also when exporting). Also full screen advertisement causes music to play twice making it sound horrible horrible.

Some of these things are of course Construct2's fault like the physics change. I would like to control when to load stuff in my game to avoid lagginess and please let me use the old functional physics.nemo2013-07-03 05:03:06
B
40
S
5
G
5
Posts: 405
Reputation: 5,657

Post » Wed Jul 03, 2013 7:51 am

Well I have yet to test V 1.4

Hearing all the errors and bug reports is worrying . . .
And we're on the verge of releasing our new version on the App Store.
Does anyone know how the new Layout by Layout loading is working?
Is there improved FPS ?
B
16
S
3
G
2
Posts: 62
Reputation: 3,225

Post » Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:20 pm

Two things on my side. Tiled backgrounds leave a pixel long line between the tiles and custom fonts are not working anymore. I had a normal ttf font in my project to style some labels and now it doesn't work anymore. Worked great in 1.3 :/
B
5
Posts: 48
Reputation: 346

Post » Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:39 pm

If I disable webGL in Construct it fixes the tileable backgrounds but not the font issue.
B
5
Posts: 48
Reputation: 346

Post » Wed Jul 03, 2013 5:32 pm

Well for me I saw a good increase in performance (FPS). Instead of dropping sometimes to 15-20 (unplayable), it is now run a smooth 40 FPS on my S galaxy :)

Physics are still not working for me. And I noticed each layout take 3 seconds to load (instead of 1 with cocoonjs 1.3)

B
4
Posts: 12
Reputation: 649

PreviousNext

Return to Tools and Resources

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests