CocoonJS Export, weird iOS Display

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Oct 11, 2012 6:17 am

OK, so I exported with CocoonJS and tested on both an iphone and droid using the cocoon launcher. I tried both Letterbox scale and scale. The results were the same with both.

Here are the side by side pictures.

iPhone 4


HTC Thunderbolt


Any ideas? Will this change at all when compiling the game from the Cocoon website?

I also tried crop, but it was worse.

Thanks.ArcadEd2012-10-11 06:19:30
B
94
S
29
G
11
Posts: 1,545
Reputation: 20,993

Post » Thu Oct 11, 2012 6:26 am

Maybe you can check the cocoonjs Orientation, it's on the top right side of the launcher, and tick to to only "Portrait" , maybe you use both landscape and portrait, it's the reason the screen become like that.
(Sry for bad E)
B
50
S
12
G
7
Posts: 259
Reputation: 10,371

Post » Thu Oct 11, 2012 6:34 am

I have it set to portrait only, thanks.
B
94
S
29
G
11
Posts: 1,545
Reputation: 20,993

Post » Thu Oct 11, 2012 7:32 am

best of all, you should send to Ludei a mail. They'll answer quickly.
B
50
S
12
G
7
Posts: 259
Reputation: 10,371

Post » Thu Oct 11, 2012 10:11 am

I've had this before, I could get it to correct itself by allowing both portrait and landscape and then flipping a few times back and forth.

Good for debugging, but not sure how to deal with that in a deployment scenario.
B
66
S
25
G
30
Posts: 434
Reputation: 18,178

Post » Thu Oct 11, 2012 3:24 pm

FYI CocoonJS and directCanvas don't support letterbox scale yet, so will work identically to ordinary scale. It looks like a bug in CocoonJS though so best contact @Ludei about it.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,574

Post » Thu Oct 11, 2012 3:30 pm

Yes, I have this. But only on the ipad1. Did the same what Eisenhans said by turning on both portrait and landscape and turning it couple of times.

It doesn't do this when compiled on cloud.

B
31
S
6
G
4
Posts: 160
Reputation: 5,998

Post » Thu Oct 11, 2012 3:33 pm

I know what the problem is.

The screen size changes for a few ticks at the start of the layout. So ensure that you don't get the screen size only once at the start.

eg. I have a layout that uses the screen center to position an object, I re-set the variable every tick.
B
22
S
7
G
3
Posts: 189
Reputation: 4,270

Post » Thu Oct 11, 2012 5:17 pm

I'm emailing back and forth with Ludei now, but it's good to know it doesn't happen when compiled. Thanks.
B
94
S
29
G
11
Posts: 1,545
Reputation: 20,993

Post » Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:57 am

I have the same problem on Android devices. If I lock the screen and go back to the game it produces this wierd resize.

In addition to that there is a strange flickering between any layout change. It is readjusting but it takes a few frames. This looks really bad

Inspired by superkew's comment I fixed both problems by adding

"Every tick: system set canvas size to LayoutWidth x LayoutHeight"

to every layout. This works for me on Android devices but I am just optimising for 16:9, 15:9 and 16:10 resolutions. (Tested on Galaxy Tab 7 and Galaxy S2)

I would appreciate to use a working fullscreen letterbox scale with fixed flickering.

@ArcadEd: Do u have any Updates from Ludei?



B
32
S
9
G
3
Posts: 204
Reputation: 7,785

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests