CocoonJS plugin updates

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Jun 11, 2015 5:08 pm

@ludei

Downloaded the latest build...and it works! Fullscreen on the debug app. Getting great perf. :D

Couple more issues/questions:

1. Now that I'm paying attention, I'm noticing a lot of latency on triggering sounds in game, aprox 500ms worth. Definitely more than is usual for android, and to the point of being very distracting for sounds that originate from collisions.

I googled and found some old references to that problem, but nothing recent. Any updates on this? Anything we can do on our end?

2.
I noticed that there are only 2 apks now; it seems arm7 and x86 builds have been merged. I don't know why this was done, but I would strongly discourage bloating the apk by bundling in both runtimes, or at least make this an option we can disable.

For an android user on an x86 platform, this would effectively make my game 250% larger than the platform specific build. :shock:

On mobile we often go to great lengths to shave of a couple MBs off the final file; it's a trivial process to upload 2 apks vs 1.

@Noga

Can you retest w/ newest builds?
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:56 pm

TiAm wrote:@ludei

Downloaded the latest build...and it works! Fullscreen on the debug app. Getting great perf. :D

Couple more issues/questions:

1. Now that I'm paying attention, I'm noticing a lot of latency on triggering sounds in game, aprox 500ms worth. Definitely more than is usual for android, and to the point of being very distracting for sounds that originate from collisions.

I googled and found some old references to that problem, but nothing recent. Any updates on this? Anything we can do on our end?

2.
I noticed that there are only 2 apks now; it seems arm7 and x86 builds have been merged. I don't know why this was done, but I would strongly discourage bloating the apk by bundling in both runtimes, or at least make this an option we can disable.

For an android user on an x86 platform, this would effectively make my game 250% larger than the platform specific build. :shock:

On mobile we often go to great lengths to shave of a couple MBs off the final file; it's a trivial process to upload 2 apks vs 1.

@Noga

Can you retest w/ newest builds?


i agree I feel the previous 2 apks was better this increased the file size download and instal to sizes I dont want lol....
B
22
S
7
G
5
Posts: 100
Reputation: 6,272

Post » Fri Jun 12, 2015 12:13 pm

CanGame wrote:
TiAm wrote:@ludei

Downloaded the latest build...and it works! Fullscreen on the debug app. Getting great perf. :D

Couple more issues/questions:

1. Now that I'm paying attention, I'm noticing a lot of latency on triggering sounds in game, aprox 500ms worth. Definitely more than is usual for android, and to the point of being very distracting for sounds that originate from collisions.

I googled and found some old references to that problem, but nothing recent. Any updates on this? Anything we can do on our end?

2.
I noticed that there are only 2 apks now; it seems arm7 and x86 builds have been merged. I don't know why this was done, but I would strongly discourage bloating the apk by bundling in both runtimes, or at least make this an option we can disable.

For an android user on an x86 platform, this would effectively make my game 250% larger than the platform specific build. :shock:

On mobile we often go to great lengths to shave of a couple MBs off the final file; it's a trivial process to upload 2 apks vs 1.

@Noga

Can you retest w/ newest builds?


i agree I feel the previous 2 apks was better this increased the file size download and instal to sizes I dont want lol....


I agree with that.

It's better keep two separated files or at least make optional.
B
10
S
1
G
1
Posts: 27
Reputation: 934

Post » Fri Jun 12, 2015 12:35 pm

ludei wrote:When did you compile this APK? We updated that javascript file 3 days ago. Try this apk https://db.tt/x76en6Wz or create a new one in the cloud.


Yes, I must've compiled it just before the update. Now, it works, thanks.
ImageImage
B
26
S
6
G
8
Posts: 774
Reputation: 6,685

Post » Fri Jun 12, 2015 1:21 pm

TiAm wrote:2. [/b]I noticed that there are only 2 apks now; it seems arm7 and x86 builds have been merged. I don't know why this was done, but I would strongly discourage bloating the apk by bundling in both runtimes, or at least make this an option we can disable.

For an android user on an x86 platform, this would effectively make my game 250% larger than the platform specific build. :shock:

On mobile we often go to great lengths to shave of a couple MBs off the final file; it's a trivial process to upload 2 apks vs 1.


Yes, they should split the file again, because now it's getting size similar to the Intel XDK.
My game apk size
Cocoon - before the merge - 15mb
Cocoon - latest export - 23mb
Intel XDK - 30mb

On one export the fps was low, now it's ok, than I got black screen, it's ok now. On one export, the game is fullscreen, but it's scaled up too much, opposite to the problem before. The game is full screen, but I'm seeing just upper left quarter of the game. I'm still doing testing and trying various settings, it's taking a lot of time.
ImageImage
B
26
S
6
G
8
Posts: 774
Reputation: 6,685

Post » Fri Jun 12, 2015 1:45 pm

@TiAm What did you do to fix the screen scaling issue? I tried the @ludei suggestion by changing the line in the c2 runtime yet I still get like...12 instances of my game running on screen. It runs well enough but...not exactly ideal.
B
37
S
5
G
1
Posts: 155
Reputation: 2,140

Post » Fri Jun 12, 2015 2:18 pm

@ludei

I have couple problems
  1. In my game when a user presses the back button, it should show quit menu, but it instantly closes the app.
  2. After Cocoon logo, the screen is black until it loads the game. Is there a way I can show a user loading progress/spash screen?

@cranberry
Thank you for the Google Game services plugin, there's no error when compiling an app anymore, but there's a one new. Can't login to the service. It always shows "Unknown error" alert.
ImageImage
B
26
S
6
G
8
Posts: 774
Reputation: 6,685

Post » Fri Jun 12, 2015 5:13 pm

@ludei
Hi everyone, I am close to releasing a new game and I am not sure if I should use your old cloud compiler or the new cocoon.io. Is it stable enough for a release? Can I move my older project over to the new compiler(when it's stable) or will there be problems with things like local storage and PlayGames/Gamecenter?(Are the Game-services already functional?) I didn't do much with the new cloud yet but it looks really nice :) . I am just a little worried about compiling my game now with the old cloud and maybe loosing the ability to update them later with the new cloud compiler. :oops: I will definitely have to try out a few things within the next days. :geek:
Last edited by C4rtman on Sat Jun 13, 2015 1:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.
B
31
S
7
G
5
Posts: 7
Reputation: 3,899

Post » Fri Jun 12, 2015 6:44 pm

I'm finding it very tempting, though my main reservation is the extremely high sound latency I'm seeing, and that some people are still reporting issues with the fullscreen formatting...though it's working fine for me.

Wish we could use Google Play Saved Games feature...would make it easy to save progress in the cloud, and switch from CJS to XDK export if we need to, without losing a player's progress. :?
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Sat Jun 13, 2015 1:47 pm

TiAm wrote:Wish we could use Google Play Saved Games feature...would make it easy to save progress in the cloud, and switch from CJS to XDK export if we need to, without losing a player's progress. :?


+1 for this feature. What needs to be done to make it into the C2?
viewtopic.php?f=146&t=125260&p=913542
ImageImage
B
26
S
6
G
8
Posts: 774
Reputation: 6,685

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BackendFreak, newt, rayolaser and 18 guests