Code?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Jan 10, 2014 7:55 pm

I'm sorry if I keep posting questions that has been answered, I just couldn't find it.

I understand Construct has pride in being a no-code-needed product but is there any information if Construct will ever get a way of coding directly? I know my programmer is a bit bummed out about that and keeps wishing for a window to type his madness into. I'm glad there's a plugin feature but it'd be nice to have raw code for the codenuts.

So, is there any plans for this, will there ever be code?
B
4
S
1
Posts: 12
Reputation: 399

Post » Fri Jan 10, 2014 7:58 pm

I hope not.
B
33
S
9
G
1
Posts: 156
Reputation: 3,034

Post » Fri Jan 10, 2014 8:01 pm

Why? If there is code you could have more freedom in creating if you have someone in the team that knows how to. For me, I'm an artist another friend is using construct as it is now and then I have a guy who knows a lot of programming.

It'd just open more doors to creating stuff.

edit: I'm not saying code should be some mandatory feature that you have to use.. It'd just be nice if it was there for people who wants it.ConnyN2014-01-10 20:04:35
B
4
S
1
Posts: 12
Reputation: 399

Post » Fri Jan 10, 2014 8:23 pm

Construct 2 was made with simplicity in mind.. That's why you see places like colleges, universities using C2 to teach students game design on an easier level. You can create third party plugins if you want to "open the doors" to more things.. I recommend your team use Unity instead if you want to work in a "coding" mindset.KazaaMafia2014-01-10 20:24:26
Image
B
82
S
16
G
4
Posts: 503
Reputation: 8,978

Post » Fri Jan 10, 2014 8:27 pm

Yes but why not both?
B
4
S
1
Posts: 12
Reputation: 399

Post » Fri Jan 10, 2014 8:34 pm

The main problem with hand coding is having to write routines to parse the input. Considering C2 was never initially written with this in mind, I can't imagine what horrors would be involved in adding such functionality.

I'd much rather Ashley continued to add and enhance the current system.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
86
Posts: 5,413
Reputation: 59,510

Post » Fri Jan 10, 2014 8:37 pm

Hm I see. That's a bummer.

Well that kind of answers my initial question, thanks.
B
4
S
1
Posts: 12
Reputation: 399

Post » Fri Jan 10, 2014 8:51 pm

There are keyboard shortcuts, with them you can type a lot of events.
Moderator
B
95
S
34
G
33
Posts: 3,006
Reputation: 27,874

Post » Fri Jan 10, 2014 9:16 pm

[QUOTE=zenox98]I'd much rather Ashley continued to add and enhance the current system.[/QUOTE]
The Truth.
B
33
S
9
G
1
Posts: 156
Reputation: 3,034

Post » Fri Jan 10, 2014 11:27 pm

If you really "need" to add code, there is the javascript SDK that allows you to add plugins/behaviors.

But truth to be told, most "already coders" that come to C2 just don't take the time to learn C2's ways and see that their programming knowledge will allow them to take advantage of the event system quicker than a "non-coder".
Make your coder friend study the manual and the tutorials and realize that THERE IS NO NEED to code, the event system IS coding.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
291
S
114
G
95
Posts: 7,293
Reputation: 70,144

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kazdalugur and 13 guests