Collision Detection for all frames

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:23 pm

I'm wondering how to set up the collision polygon.

Is there a quick way to do it for each frame in an animation in one go? At the moment, I have to go through each frame and tell it to guess the shape. Is there a one-click solution to this? I tried the apply to other frames button, but that just duplicates the current shape.

I currently have only 20, but that's for a single animation. I aim to have another at 50, and the list may grow. If this isn't currently an option, can this be a requested feature?
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
68
S
8
G
6
Posts: 931
Reputation: 9,360

Post » Sun Nov 27, 2011 1:07 am

That's what the 'apply to whole animation' button is supposed to do, what's it doing wrong?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,610

Post » Sun Nov 27, 2011 10:05 am

Ashley - it's applying only the first frames poly. Which, in an animation is hardly beneficial.
B
19
S
6
G
6
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 5,646

Post » Mon Nov 28, 2011 1:17 pm

Yeah, this is the problem I am facing. I would prefer the software to automagically update the poly per frame, not just base it on the original :)
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
68
S
8
G
6
Posts: 931
Reputation: 9,360

Post » Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:50 pm

Ah, so you mean a 'Guess poly for whole animation' button?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,610

Post » Mon Nov 28, 2011 5:42 pm

Exactly! Autopolies for each and every frame would be great.
B
19
S
6
G
6
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 5,646

Post » Mon Nov 28, 2011 6:04 pm

Some of the 'Guesses' C2 has made for me, I would have thought it more practical to do it yourself.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,850
Reputation: 48,301

Post » Mon Nov 28, 2011 6:53 pm

Possible, Zenox, but it'll take a very long time for a few of these. I don't need exact precision, but would prefer "guess" to collision with transparent box surrounding sprite.
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
68
S
8
G
6
Posts: 931
Reputation: 9,360

Post » Mon Nov 28, 2011 6:59 pm

I totally understand what you mean, but personally don't agree :)

For instance, if I have 10 animated characters, each with 16 frames of animation, it still would only take about 20-30 minutes to quickly setup the collision points as I want them. That's hardly what I would call a long time. Even if it took half a day, that's still a small amount of time for such an important aspect of game creation.

But, each to his own. If Ashley does this and people find it useful then that's all that really matters in the end :)

zen
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,850
Reputation: 48,301

Post » Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:55 pm

I agree with you. If I were to be making a game, and I wasn't confident on the accuracy of the Autopoly, I would probably do it by hand. If, on the other hand, I was making a quick demo/prototype, I would prefer to have it immediately, or even to a state where I could just manually touch it up afterwards.

In video, I often used to manually mask out footage. Then I bought a green-screen. Using a combination of the two, I can get very good looking results.

I completely agree with you that manual gives you exactly what you want, rather than the "guesses". The sprite I'm working on now (UFO) has 19 frames looping as a stand still, and 50 frames when it crashes. I could do it by hand, but for me, 20 minutes for what I consider a 'demo' is quite a lot of time.

As you say though, to each their own
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
68
S
8
G
6
Posts: 931
Reputation: 9,360

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: farfetchd83, Laurent, makkancs, onzephyr and 24 guests