Collision Mask

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Wed Dec 09, 2009 5:44 pm

Bumping this because i am also having difficulties with the new collision mask thing.

For me, when i try right clicking and then selecting "launch explorer", a window pops up that just has a text file labelled "stub". No image files at all. And i just downloaded the latest version of Construct yesterday.
B
2
G
3
Posts: 52
Reputation: 954

Post » Wed Dec 09, 2009 7:59 pm

I just did some experimenting with it, and it does work... you just have to edit the mask for each frame individually. The bug lies in the fact that it appears the masks reset themselves if you do the "Launch Explorer" thing again, and the "Copy collision mask to each frame" feature doesn't appear to work.

So yeah, you could use this to make hitboxes for your player or enemy sprites, but it would take a lot of work and be quite tedious, at least until it's fixed. So until then I guess it's separate hitboxes.

I don't know what's happening with yours, though. I get the "Stub" file too, but I also get the sprite.png, mask.png, and frames.txt. Sounds like a different issue entirely.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:19 pm

Weird. Guess i'll just wait for the fix i suppose.

Hey, what's with the Collision Mask button in the sprite editor and why doesn't it do anything? Or does it do something, i just don't know what to do with it?
B
2
G
3
Posts: 52
Reputation: 954

Post » Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:07 pm

It's an incomplete feature.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Fri Dec 25, 2009 12:38 pm

[quote="deadeye":2wxh51is]It's an incomplete feature.[/quote:2wxh51is]
In 99.7 you can now do collision mask in the picture editor.
It works great, but the right clicking feature is still incomplete.
B
21
S
4
G
4
Posts: 280
Reputation: 2,934

Previous

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests