Collision masks?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Thu May 20, 2010 12:41 pm

Currently my cap file crashes construct every time we try to 'launch explorer' from the animator window. We've tested the cap file on 3 different computers and it crashes all of them. Is there a work around for changing collision masks that doesn't involve launching the explorer? Or is the only option to create a separate sprite for collisions? Or (please say this is true!) is there a setting I have wrong somewhere that will magically make construct stop crashing?

I swear I used to be able to change collision masks with this cap file! :(
B
2
G
2
Posts: 10
Reputation: 670

Post » Thu May 20, 2010 2:59 pm

Ok. We found the point in our revisions where the launch explorer stopped working... so here are the two versions. We don't see any differences between them that would cause the image explorer thingie in animations to crash. Any ideas?

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/6493733/nonworking.cap
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/6493733/working.cap

Or am I slowly going insane?
B
2
G
2
Posts: 10
Reputation: 670

Post » Thu May 20, 2010 5:54 pm

As far as I can say, the crashing only occurs when trying to export the frames of Enemy1. I had no problems exporting TalkPers1, key, Key2 or Pillar.

Interesting that Enemy1 is the only object of the 5 that has its default animation renamed to "Walking", while in Start Animation it still says "Default". However, just setting Start Animation to "Walking" didn't solve the problem, but it may have something to do with it.

Sorry for not being able to help more.
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Thu May 20, 2010 6:01 pm

Sorry, but yes the explorer is currently broken. It's something to do with imagepoints I think.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749

Post » Thu May 20, 2010 6:08 pm

You may be right, newt. After your post I played around with the imagepoints. If I delete the point named "1" I can export without problems, as soon as I add one, it crashes again.
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Fri May 21, 2010 6:24 am

Ok... so for all our characters with image points... we delete those, fix the collision masks, then put them back in? ;-)

Is this a known bug? Or just one of those 'feature' things? =)
B
2
G
2
Posts: 10
Reputation: 670

Post » Fri May 21, 2010 6:41 am

I had a look at the tracker. It is reported and still open:

[url:9vt4tqvq]http://sourceforge.net/tracker/index.php?func=detail&aid=2931401&group_id=207820&atid=1003219[/url:9vt4tqvq]

So I would say it is a known bug ;) (well, now I know of it :mrgreen: )
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Fri May 21, 2010 7:36 am

Yeah semi-known bug, but defiantly not a hidden feature.... yet.
I think Davo had kinda planned on having it set so the user could edit the image point list.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests