... compare single letters

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Dec 25, 2012 7:03 pm

I'm in the process of creating my own RPG fantasy world and, as it happens, need a reliable rune generator that works with my own combination of several runic alphabets.

Unfortunately, the standard compare text action is not really sufficient for what I'm trying to do ("translating" text on the fly).

As it compares the whole text and not just single letter, it will change the first letter but not any letter thereafter.

Is there any way to do something about it?

Here's my syntax:

Textbox - Compare text ("a") - Set text to ("?")
B
6
S
2
Posts: 206
Reputation: 1,685

Post » Wed Dec 26, 2012 1:57 pm

Why don't you load every character into a 1d array, and work your way around into a repetitive loop.wildmedia2012-12-26 13:57:34
B
15
S
3
G
2
Posts: 42
Reputation: 2,412

Post » Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:12 am

Thanks.I'll keep this in mind the next time I'm writing such kind of tool.

For this particular app, I ended up replacing the UCS with images from real runes.

I figured, the UCS wouldn't really look good. Even if scaled to a very large font size.

Actual futhorc looks way more impressive.
B
6
S
2
Posts: 206
Reputation: 1,685


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: makkancs and 35 guests