complex button commands

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Sep 30, 2013 5:22 pm

@plinkie

when I directly open it after downloading


when i save it first then open it from the file location
sgn152013-09-30 17:25:01
B
16
S
7
Posts: 301
Reputation: 2,726

Post » Mon Sep 30, 2013 5:24 pm

Sec. I like to use the beta!
B
45
S
15
G
73
Posts: 2,000
Reputation: 43,382

Post » Mon Sep 30, 2013 5:36 pm

I'm not sure how to enable the file in previous version. I install r139 but no way to open project file or .capx. Are you able to update r145? : P
B
45
S
15
G
73
Posts: 2,000
Reputation: 43,382

Post » Mon Sep 30, 2013 5:39 pm

B
45
S
15
G
73
Posts: 2,000
Reputation: 43,382

Post » Tue Oct 01, 2013 5:14 am

[QUOTE=plinkie] I have added some logic at the bottom of the event sheet
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/49548363/run_updated.capx

There are some bugs you need to iron out and also you will need to add it into your existing logic as I disabled the movement groups to get it working. From the logic that exists you seem to know what you're doing though so shouldnt be a problem.

Some key things to notice. The RunCounter variable goes to 2 instantly so I set up a 'Can Double Tap' thing. This allows the user to double tap within 1 second. Check the text object to see how it updates with taps. Also you will notice that Run automatically cuts out when the timer expires, you'll need to set up some logic that detects if the player is running when timer ends so it doesn't instantly set back to Stance. Also the Run animation isn't working properly, which I assume is because it's being overriden by something however you had Run working before so this shouldn't be a problem for you. It is definitely triggering Run though! :)

Hopefully this has helped. Any more questions, send them on! [/QUOTE]

@plinkie


I disabled my run and movement groups and added those codes.

Here's what happens:
I double tap right arrow (and not release the press on the second tap), player uses Run animation's first frame for about 1 second, then goes back to walk.

so the problems are it never animates the Run and it goes back to walk after a second.
B
16
S
7
Posts: 301
Reputation: 2,726

Post » Tue Oct 01, 2013 10:52 am

Every time Right Arrow is down it's going to try and play Walk so you need to set up a condition for the first event there.
B
45
S
15
G
73
Posts: 2,000
Reputation: 43,382

Post » Tue Oct 01, 2013 4:40 pm

@ plinkie

I tried and tried but it doesn't work.

I tried searching a different keyword in the search bar in the forums and found this

http://www.scirra.com/forum/how-the-heck-do-you-detect-a-double-key-press_topic67365.html

my file right now
http://www.sendspace.com/file/k8fw8a

I followed that and I think the run is working?

Try the 3 hit combo (press x 3 times) then try walk/run then combo again then walk/run again, at some point, the combo won't work anymore and/or you can't do anything (walk/run/jump/combo).

Can you tell me what is the source of the bugs of my player?

is it the "start/stop ignoring input" action?

Oh god I feel so stupid with my problems. I really feel that way.
B
16
S
7
Posts: 301
Reputation: 2,726

Post » Tue Oct 01, 2013 5:29 pm

If you put a space after the @ I don't get a notification. The run seems to be working fine. You probably need to add some logic in to stop users pressing right, left instead or right, right. If you press right,left he will run left. This could cause errors to occur with the events you have in place. Unless this isn't a problem. I will look at the combo thing in a sec..
B
45
S
15
G
73
Posts: 2,000
Reputation: 43,382

Post » Tue Oct 01, 2013 5:54 pm

The running on the spot stuff is generally caused by moving when doing the combo. You need to lock out the pressing of arrow keys when Luffy is doing combo animations.
B
45
S
15
G
73
Posts: 2,000
Reputation: 43,382

Post » Wed Oct 02, 2013 4:47 am

@plinkie
I already have the "Start/Stop ignoring user input" in the combos.

Those doesn't solve the "need to lock out the pressing of arrow keys when Luffy is doing combo animations." ???

What is another way of disabling the pressing of any or certain buttons during an animation?

can you use @sgn15 in your reply as well. I want to have notifications as wellsgn152013-10-02 07:59:47
B
16
S
7
Posts: 301
Reputation: 2,726

PreviousNext

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Apollo14, MaujDeveloper and 5 guests