Concerning tests

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Jan 17, 2013 4:53 am

Can you post a capx? I'm getting 60fps on both my iPhone 4S and ipad 3.

It appears you still have a lot of overdraw going on - completely transparent pixels around the planets and such still take gpu time to draw. Also, is your border a full screen image as well? That would be 2x the pixels again. There appears to be tons of objects offscreen right that are unnessecary.

Can you post a .capx? That would make it easier to see what you're doing.

Also, of note there was a significant jump from the iPhone 4 to the iPhone 4S, which CPU is 2x faster and gpu is 7x faster.Arima2013-01-17 04:57:14
Moderator
B
87
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,397

Post » Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:16 am



Just post .capx we will see what is the problem, i've made a game which uses continous scroll background without bug and i get 22-31 fps on my iPod touch 4
B
96
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,052
Reputation: 22,638

Post » Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:58 am

On my ancient Sharp ADS-01 using Android 2.2 and the stock mobile browser I'm still getting 10-14 fps on that second project.
B
26
S
8
G
3
Posts: 210
Reputation: 5,973

Post » Mon Apr 08, 2013 9:23 am

Does a coloured background layer count as a "draw" compared with a full texture, in respect to overdraw?

For example, we have a static background image for a small layout (480x800) which is composed of half a screen of pictures at the bottom and then largely 1 blue colour at the top (i.e. sky) with a few additional images in the sky.

The options as I see it are:
1)Using a blue background layer and overlaying half a screen of pictures at the bottom. Would this count as the first draw or a second draw in addition to the blue?

2)Using a tiled blue on a transparent background with some overdraw where the jagged pictures overlap.

3)Using one full background image on a transparent background, being only 1 draw but with the need to load a larger texture into RAM.

Number 1 seems the best good option, but not if it causes half a screen of unnecessary overdraw.

Thanks
B
29
S
8
G
4
Posts: 61
Reputation: 6,205

Post » Mon Apr 08, 2013 6:54 pm

That will result in overdraw where they overlap, yes. Option 3 is the most efficient for the rendering process. You could also use option 2 and try to reduce the amount they overlap as much as possible. Also remember to set 'clear background' in the project's properties to no, as that takes up draw time too.Arima2013-04-08 18:57:13
Moderator
B
87
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,397

Post » Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:18 pm

Remember even transparent pixels must be drawn. So a transparent background project will still clear every pixel to transparent every frame, which will take up some of the fill rate. This is what the 'clear background' project property is for, so you can turn off that clear in case the background is 100% covered by opaque objects.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Wed Apr 10, 2013 10:44 am

Thanks for the info guys.

It makes sense now. As any layer can have a coloured opacity and that would count as a draw, it makes sense that the background layer would as well, in the same way as clearing the background with a transparency would count as a draw.

I suppose I was hoping that flushing the background with 1 colour (or transparency) would be a simpler task for the renderer than rendering an image.
B
29
S
8
G
4
Posts: 61
Reputation: 6,205

Post » Wed Apr 10, 2013 2:39 pm

[QUOTE=Ashley] Remember even transparent pixels must be drawn. So a transparent background project will still clear every pixel to transparent every frame, which will take up some of the fill rate. This is what the 'clear background' project property is for, so you can turn off that clear in case the background is 100% covered by opaque objects.[/QUOTE]

Do transparent layers cause transparent pixels to be drawn as well, or just the objects on them?
B
49
S
18
G
7
Posts: 429
Reputation: 8,893

Post » Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:36 pm

Only the transparent pixels of the objects on the layer, unless you've set the layer to be rendered as a texture, in which case I'm not sure if the segment with objects is cropped or if the entire layer is drawn.
Moderator
B
87
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,397

Post » Thu Apr 11, 2013 10:47 pm

[QUOTE=Arima] Only the transparent pixels of the objects on the layer, unless you've set the layer to be rendered as a texture, in which case I'm not sure if the segment with objects is cropped or if the entire layer is drawn.[/QUOTE]

Cool, thanks for the info. Where are you getting this? Is there a manual entry on this sort of info?
B
49
S
18
G
7
Posts: 429
Reputation: 8,893

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 99Instances2Go, BackendFreak, TGeorgeMihai, TheRealDannyyy and 7 guests