Concerns with the Light/Shadow so far

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Aug 09, 2014 10:55 pm

@AnD4D
Nope. Unfortunately this WebGL effect makes things even worse than on image I've posted.

AnD4D wrote:I doubt it will be sorted though. Still waiting for the SpriteFont to be updated to a more user-friendly state.


Yeaah, I've already expressed myself about things like that in other post.

Ok then, time to get back to "Rojo's shadow Pater" - this at least works as one would expect.
ImageImageImageImage
B
157
S
64
G
41
Posts: 2,590
Reputation: 34,640

Post » Sun Aug 10, 2014 8:33 am

@shinkan ,

I think that something happened in the latest versions of C2. I don't remember seeing this problem before, at least around the time that the lights-shadows system was introduced. I might be mistaken though. I haven't tried to revert back to version 170 to confirm it. As it is now though, unless you use 0 as height for the lights, you are due to have problems.

Here is a demo if anyone is interested checking out this problematic behavior.

http://www.eli0s.com/Tests/Lights&Shadows_Problem/

And here is the capx.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
composer - multimedia artist
www.eli0s.com/en/
B
68
S
26
G
4
Posts: 1,146
Reputation: 9,649

Post » Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:12 pm

@eli0s

Not sure if it's the latest version or not, Did'n play with official shadow till now. But at this current time this "feature" is useless, unless your are using only one light for entire layout.


oh. and your demo link don't work.
ImageImageImageImage
B
157
S
64
G
41
Posts: 2,590
Reputation: 34,640

Post » Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:25 pm

shinkan wrote:@eli0s oh. and your demo link don't work.


What do you mean it doesn't work? It doesn't run at all? You get a 404 error?
I think that some countries block my site for some reason, now I am afraid I'll have to add Poland as one of them as well :(

There is a problem with Firefox, however that only persists of not showing the text objects. On Chrome it should play just fine.

The capx however should be fully functional.
composer - multimedia artist
www.eli0s.com/en/
B
68
S
26
G
4
Posts: 1,146
Reputation: 9,649

Post » Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:29 pm

Capx works fine (the file not the content of it :P)
Just the website shows "This webpage is not available" in Chrome.
ImageImageImageImage
B
157
S
64
G
41
Posts: 2,590
Reputation: 34,640

Post » Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:52 pm

Dammit!

Thanks for the clarification @shinkan !
composer - multimedia artist
www.eli0s.com/en/
B
68
S
26
G
4
Posts: 1,146
Reputation: 9,649

Post » Tue Aug 12, 2014 9:59 pm

eli0s wrote:I think that something happened in the latest versions of C2. I don't remember seeing this problem before, at least around the time that the lights-shadows system was introduced. I might be mistaken though.


The plugin has always had this limitation. So long as you have more than one light, you'll end up with incorrect shadows. This is because the plugin is a shadow caster, rather than a light caster. If one light casts a shadow onto another light, said light will be in shadow. Very strange, but so far sadly unusable for me.
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
79
S
12
G
7
Posts: 961
Reputation: 10,717

Post » Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:27 pm

AnD4D wrote:
eli0s wrote:I think that something happened in the latest versions of C2. I don't remember seeing this problem before, at least around the time that the lights-shadows system was introduced. I might be mistaken though.


The plugin has always had this limitation. So long as you have more than one light, you'll end up with incorrect shadows. This is because the plugin is a shadow caster, rather than a light caster. If one light casts a shadow onto another light, said light will be in shadow. Very strange, but so far sadly unusable for me.

What about this post from earlier in the thread? Doesn't that solve the issue? The new shader is already included.
B
36
S
8
G
8
Posts: 532
Reputation: 6,903

Post » Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:24 pm

AnD4D wrote:The plugin has always had this limitation. So long as you have more than one light, you'll end up with incorrect shadows. This is because the plugin is a shadow caster, rather than a light caster. If one light casts a shadow onto another light, said light will be in shadow. Very strange, but so far sadly unusable for me.


Oh, ok, then I hadn't noticed before since when I tried multiple lights I did it only with the Light Height set to 0 ("infinitely" long shadows). I too find it weird the way the light (shadow) is being cast and I hope for a more robust solution in the (near) future. I understand that box2d does have lightning capabilities build in, but I doubt that @Ashley will implement them any time soon. As I read in response to requests on other topics, keeping the box2d features updated and functional for many exporters is difficult to maintain. I guess that that's an other drawback for not having native exporter.

Fimbul wrote:What about this post from earlier in the thread? Doesn't that solve the issue? The new shader is already included.


Since the problem seems to be related with the shapes on the shadow's polygons, I don't see how this shader can resolve those artifacts...
composer - multimedia artist
www.eli0s.com/en/
B
68
S
26
G
4
Posts: 1,146
Reputation: 9,649

Post » Thu Sep 04, 2014 1:24 am

Just played around with the shadow object and wanted to add some feature requests. I don't think I saw these on here.

1) Falloff Distance. It would be great if the light object could have a distance set to where it no longer casts shadows on objects outside of that distance.

2) Directional Light. I would like a light to mimic light from the sun, so that all shadows go in the same direction.
B
79
S
51
G
39
Posts: 370
Reputation: 24,705

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Hiran Rodrigues and 5 guests