Conditionally Move a Layer Up or Down?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Sep 09, 2013 10:12 pm

Hi,

I have several gameplay layers, with touch controls on HUD. When a specific event is triggered, I want to pause activity and have a 'tutorial layer' jump to the top of the layer stack (which has a 'click-to-continue button'). Otherwise this and other tutorial layers would be stored beneath the background.

Is there a way to do this? Is there a better approach to managing the appearance of tutorial level information notices?

Thanks for any help provided.

- Scott
B
9
S
3
G
1
Posts: 12
Reputation: 760

Post » Mon Sep 09, 2013 10:23 pm

You could just use sprites that pop in (create it), pause the game, then when they are touched then destroy and the game continues.

Or create the continue button when you create the info sprites.

B
101
S
32
G
12
Posts: 1,549
Reputation: 21,993

Post » Mon Sep 09, 2013 10:36 pm

Thanks for the input - I was just experimenting with that sort of solution. Seems to work quite well.

Thanks again for the suggestion! This will likely be the long term solution.

No programmatic layer promotion, then?
B
9
S
3
G
1
Posts: 12
Reputation: 760

Post » Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:19 pm

You can put the tutorial prompts into a group called 'Tutorial' and enable it only when you want them to appear and at the same time disable background stuff, which will be located within other groups, so that you can lock out inputs, touching, triggered events etc. Also put all of the tutorial prompts on the front layer I guess..
B
47
S
18
G
84
Posts: 2,273
Reputation: 49,800

Post » Fri Sep 27, 2013 7:03 pm

@ArcadEd @plinkie

Hi Guys,

I just wanted to say thank you for your input!

- Scott
B
9
S
3
G
1
Posts: 12
Reputation: 760


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests