Confusing wkwebview problem, can anyone help?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Oct 23, 2016 9:47 pm

I have an app which used to work fine, but lately I've been trying to get it to work with wkwebview on iOS.

When I create a simple test app with Construct, I can build it and compile it with cordova and it works fine.

The problem is that my real app just goes to a black screen and nothing happens at all. It must be something in the app causing the problem. One option would be to remake it step by step until I find out what the problem is, but I was wondering if anyone can think of anything obvious that might be wrong?

Thanks!
B
6
S
1
Posts: 50
Reputation: 500

Post » Sun Oct 23, 2016 9:50 pm

Use the latest C2, it fixed some major bugs with Cordova WKWebView.

I use XDK (Cordova export, yes use WKWebView & XDK format). In the plugins, make sure you select the latest versions of all the plugins. By default it's using some outdated WKWebView plugin and others, change the version and select the latest (1.1.0 for WK).
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,609

Post » Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:17 pm

Thanks for the reply, I'll give that a try... The only thing is that it works fine when I make a new empty app. It's almost like there's something wrong with the app itself that is making it not work.

I'll let you know if I have any success changing the plugin versions!
B
6
S
1
Posts: 50
Reputation: 500

Post » Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:14 pm

No luck with changing the plugin versions in XDK...

I've tried disabling the whole event sheet in the app and it still loads to a black screen. The construct loading screen shows up, but then just black. If I close and reopen the app on my iPad it is sort of half loaded up. (Not the sprite font layer or a few images).

If I create a new app with construct it's totally fine, no problems at all. I was hoping to go through the event sheet and re-enable events one by one to find the problem, but it seems even that isn't it.

Does anyone know of anything that might be in my project that is causing it to not load properly?
B
6
S
1
Posts: 50
Reputation: 500

Post » Mon Oct 24, 2016 11:20 pm

Do you use 3rd party plugins?

Strange that it would be an event causing it, your game does work fine on preview in Safari (over WiFi), right?
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,609



Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Glyfos, Google [Bot], tumira and 3 guests