Consider Cocoon if XDK is not working (updated)

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Feb 05, 2016 5:54 pm

I don't use that service for any games i've made so far so I can't say. I'd like to try it out but right now i have to get screen capture / saving to local memory working for a job. I'll pay anyone $50 who can give me a working capx.
B
56
S
9
G
1
Posts: 938
Reputation: 6,458

Post » Fri Feb 05, 2016 9:50 pm

An idea, perhaps some forums here for each of the major compilers like cocoon and xdk, just list them as unofficial and use them as a place where users can offer inter-user adive, alot better than everyone going to the cocoon forums or the xdk forums, both aren't much help tbh.

If it's not considered to be Scirra's responsibility to offer unofficial support for the compilers, look at it this way, Scirra advertises it's capabilities in developing games for mobile platforms and without these compilers there would be no mobile games.
B
41
S
12
G
14
Posts: 1,117
Reputation: 11,253

Post » Fri Feb 05, 2016 10:28 pm

yea exactly.. Scirra needs to figure it out an official solution. they need to own the pipeline.. no screwing around with 3rd party services that have really no incentive to support Construct 2 users (who are often not wanting to spend money)..

And as I was suggesting before.. Scirra could make their publishing pipeline a pad premium service.. sure let people use XDK or Cocoon IO without this, but for those who NEED to know plugins are tested and working, C2 users could be part of a monthly service that insures someone is testing and able to confirm things are as they should be

If everyone is using the same approach as a community then we could support each other.. so it wouldn't be just Scirra's job to help answer every question. however the simpler and more controlled it is, the more most of us who are not developers or value our time would rather support a service that insures things are as frictionless and reliable as possible.
B
56
S
9
G
1
Posts: 938
Reputation: 6,458

Post » Sat Feb 06, 2016 1:56 am

@Zebbi
Instead of using the actual leaderboard name you have to use the Leaderboard ID. I wonder if this is the issue you are having. I had the same issue because the plugin asks for the leaderboard name and even gives an example of the name. So just create a variable with the Leaderboard ID and use that. Let me know if that's the issue you are having

Also as far as the ads quickly loading. I ran into the same issue and I narrowed it down to the event On banner loaded triggered multiple times even when calling it just once. So I used a variable in the event and changed it the very first time the On banner loaded got triggered.
B
33
S
8
G
2
Posts: 100
Reputation: 2,635

Post » Sat Feb 06, 2016 2:19 am

I wonder how the subscription service works, if your sub expire, does the game no longer work? Or it's just you no longer can build but the existing game works fine?
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,614

Post » Sat Feb 06, 2016 2:29 am

when your account expires you just go back to the free version (2 project max and lower priority in cue).. it's really not a big deal.. i'm mostly giving them money because i want to see cocoon io get rewarded for their time helping C2 developers like me have a better solution than XDK
B
56
S
9
G
1
Posts: 938
Reputation: 6,458

Post » Sat Feb 06, 2016 6:36 am

thatserafimkid wrote:@Zebbi
Instead of using the actual leaderboard name you have to use the Leaderboard ID. I wonder if this is the issue you are having. I had the same issue because the plugin asks for the leaderboard name and even gives an example of the name. So just create a variable with the Leaderboard ID and use that. Let me know if that's the issue you are having

Also as far as the ads quickly loading. I ran into the same issue and I narrowed it down to the event On banner loaded triggered multiple times even when calling it just once. So I used a variable in the event and changed it the very first time the On banner loaded got triggered.

I agree they should not describe it as the leaderboard name, but I've always used the ID since I started working with C2's built-in plugin, then cranberry's and both suggest using the ID. It's working now, it was a major mistake on my behalf of using the wrong package name in the game services! :oops:

Believe it or not but just two days ago I tried usign a variable that did like you described and it didn't help, I might try it again with a blank layer on the top set to active and see if that helps. At the moment, the way I have it doesn't refresh but it DOES load it again when it is unhidden, which is weird and flakey looking.
B
41
S
12
G
14
Posts: 1,117
Reputation: 11,253

Post » Sat Feb 06, 2016 10:21 am

ok i am going try my next game with cocoon show the tutorial you use to get ads to show i already have a admob account what next
Image
B
35
S
11
G
2
Posts: 312
Reputation: 3,714

Post » Sat Feb 06, 2016 1:43 pm

Have anyone experienced in game audio being broken after dismissing an video ad using cocoonIO ?
B
31
S
10
G
6
Posts: 259
Reputation: 6,751

Post » Sat Feb 06, 2016 2:43 pm

oh hey so that.. Volkan actually came up with a system (this was needed for XDK too) but basically what you want to do is pause your music before the ad starts.. like "when watch ad button is press - pause music" and then the "ad is complete - resume music".

As for overall audio not working after ad, that I can't say I've experienced.
B
56
S
9
G
1
Posts: 938
Reputation: 6,458

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests