Construct 0.98.4 released

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Sun Jan 11, 2009 8:14 pm

[size=200:1tde2hgn]Download 0.98.4 now![/size:1tde2hgn]

This update provides a lot of bug fixes and a few new features (the usual, really). Please remember to post bugs to the [url=https://sourceforge.net/tracker2/?group_id=207820&atid=1003219:1tde2hgn]tracker[/url:1tde2hgn], unless there's something really serious which breaks this build, in which post it here in the thread and I'll see if we can fix it ASAP!

Remember you can donate via the main page. All your donations mean a lot to us and thanks to everyone who's donated in the past. We also pay for upgrades to the Prof-UIS library from donations, so it does come back around.

Anyways here's the changelog:

Behaviors
- [ADD] Drag & Drop: ability to limit dragging to one axis
- [ADD] RTS: Get destination X/Y
- [ADD] Platform: can disable down-falls-off-platform, new conditions for testing wall left/right/above
- [FIX] Ball movement: 'Set angle' had no effect when 'Rotate object' enabled
- [FIX] RTS movement: issuing a move action on Start of Layout crashed
- [FIX] Platform: objects with the 'platform' attribute are no longer solid sideways

Event sheet editor
- [ADD] Draws lines to show indentation of subevents
- [FIX] Crash using 'go to' when no include had been made
- [FIX] Adding events by the ribbon now insert at the right place
- [FIX] Adding stuff from the ribbon now unselects the previous selection and selects the new stuff
- [FIX] Adding conditions by the ribbon and by the right click inserts at the right place
- [FIX] Can no longer add sub events in stupid places like comments and includes (ribbon, right mouse popup, drag drop, hover buttons covered)
- [FIX] Deleting events or groups without deleting their children will no longer cause the children to reverse. Also, it will make the animation gap that the events move smaller so the transistion wont mess up
- [FIX] Crash running a project with a blank event sheet include

General
- [ADD] New 'No serialize' attribute. Objects with this attribute will not be saved or loaded at runtime by the save/load/quicksave/quickload actions. Useful for objects like XAudio2 playing music etc (You need to add this attribute manually in old .caps)
- [ADD] 'No to all' when resource prompts occur, if they are missing
- [ADD] Some (long overdue) window settings: minimize box, maximize box, caption, resizable.
- [FIX] Reordering layouts now sets the changed status of applications to true
- [FIX] Editing/adding/deleting any resource now sets the application status to changed
- [FIX] Crash selecting 'go to url' in insert object dialog
- [FIX] Crash resizing selections in the Picture editor
- [CHANGE] Double clicking in the object bar opens the picture editor now
- [CHANGE] Updated to new Prof-UIS 2.84
- [CHANGE] Update checker now runs in a thread, should stop all lockups at start
- [CHANGE] The Directsound object no longer appears in the Insert Object dialog. You can still open old .caps using the object, though. Use XAudio2 instead of Directsound.

Layout editor
- [ADD] Holding enter while left clicking selects the object under the selected object (allowing you to get to those hard to select items!)
- [ADD] While dragging, pressing enter will paste the object onto the layout making it easier to make large amounts of objects
- [FIX] Crash with pasting clones
- [CHANGE] Right click wont change the selection in layout editor if you mouse is over a selected object

Plugins
- [ADD] Timeline object: significantly upgraded, effectively version 2
- [ADD] XAudio2: Limiter (on by default). The limiter dynamically adjusts the volume so sound does not distort if you are playing a large number of samples at once. This substantially improves audio quality in this situation.
- [ADD] Layout object: transparent & resize-to-fit options, can scroll independently
- [ADD] Sprite: 'is overlapping at offset' condition. Can be used instead of 'detector' sprites.
- [ADD] Sprite: 'resume animation' action, which plays but does not go back to first frame
- [FIX] XAudio2: possible crash in playing samples
- [FIX] XAudio2: crash playing music from resource twice with two instances
- [FIX] Tiled background: 'set image scale' did not display all parameters in event sheet editor
- [FIX] Plasma object: is now timedelta-compliant
- [FIX] Crash in Bone movement
- [FIX] Minimap: invalid texture reference when device reset

Runtime
- [ADD] System object: cubic interpolation expression (cubic())
- [FIX] Collisions: bounding-box tested against per-pixel objects was not working
- [FIX] Debugger-reported event numbers are now always correct
- [FIX] Problems with incomplete containers in layout editor again
- [FIX] Weirdly rendered display if the layout was smaller than the window, and mouse co-ordinates sometimes wrong in that case.
- [FIX] 'Pick a random object' didn't work correctly with families
- [CHANGE] Animations are now allowed to skip frames if they are faster than the framerate
- [CHANGE] Passing a family to a create/spawn action now picks a random type in that family and creates that
- [CHANGE] Debugger can now also identify the event sheet a crash originated from if it happened in an action, condition or expression.
- [CHANGE] Window automatically centers itself in the screen on startup.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,610

Post » Sun Jan 11, 2009 8:40 pm

Awesome :D. The changelog looks nice... downloading now.

[quote="Ashley":1ao4ab3j]...unless there's something really serious which breaks this build, in which post it here in the thread and I'll see if I can fix it ASAP![/quote:1ao4ab3j]

Fingers crossed... :P

Edit:
Hey, my half-assed gear button is in this build :lol:
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:01 pm

[quote:8ckof3px]- [ADD] Platform: ... new conditions for testing wall left/right/above[/quote:8ckof3px]

Sorry for double-post... where are these conditions located?
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:05 pm

They're conditions in the platform movement, which are reached by selecting the sprite with the movement while adding a new condition, and using the tab to pick Platform.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,610

Post » Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:14 pm

Ah, okay. I was slightly confused there for a second, let's just leave it at that :P

So far it works good though :). You guys are really looking for a way to get away from detectors, aren't you? Well you won't foil my plans... I'll find a use for them muahahahaa!

Seriously though, I can't think of any use for them any more. I'm scrapping my detectors lesson and moving on to the next one. You have successfully rendered them obsolete, it seems.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:19 pm

Aw awesome! cant download it to the machine im at right now, will as soon as i can! oh and if i may ask, what does the new prof-uis thingy add?
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 193
Reputation: 1,636

Post » Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:21 pm

Did you fix the bone movement bug where it crashed when you added a new one?
B
4
S
2
G
4
Posts: 164
Reputation: 2,178

Post » Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:55 pm

I think i found a bug (maybe it's just me). My player object won't stay still. It just keeps playing the running animation. This problem occurs in Rich's bone/platform example also. Do I need to upload a .cap?

It was working fine before the update.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 14
Reputation: 1,078

Post » Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:58 pm

[quote="Maccally":3e2k1r7t]I think i found a bug (maybe it's just me). My player object won't stay still. It just keeps playing the running animation. This problem occurs in Rich's bone/platform example also. Do I need to upload a .cap?[/quote:3e2k1r7t]

I have a feeling that's not a bug... try posting your .cap in a Help/Tech thread.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:43 pm

[quote="deadeye":3ot4scrc][quote="Maccally":3ot4scrc]I think i found a bug (maybe it's just me). My player object won't stay still. It just keeps playing the running animation. This problem occurs in Rich's bone/platform example also. Do I need to upload a .cap?[/quote:3ot4scrc]

I have a feeling that's not a bug... try posting your .cap in a Help/Tech thread.[/quote:3ot4scrc]

The problem is, it does it in Rich's bone movement example as well, so I'm guessing it's not something I'm doing. If you want to see if it does it to you just download Rich's bone movement example. I also uninstalled and reinstalled Construct 0.98.4.
B
2
G
4
Posts: 14
Reputation: 1,078

Next

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests