Construct 0.99.7 (unstable) released

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:42 am

Bug fixes are always awesome! :D
Btw guys are you going to fix the sprite plugin or not? I was screaming bazillion times about it and submitted this bug to the tracker long ago https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=d ... id=1003219 . Once again I'll mention that there is no opportunity to create an example cap because if I do it, it will work on computers that have no problems with sprite plugin. This bug is a great barrier for all construct game devs because this bug lowers compatibility status much! Imagine you've made a cool game but it works only on your pc...
I've done a lot of things before: installed Construct on XP SP3, then formatted my both hard drives and installed it on XP SP2 but it didn't help(I always have latest DX9 releases on my pc). I still receive this error. Guys you gotta do smth with it I know. :wink: I appreciate your hard work and efforts in game creating engine developing much and believe it's the best 2d engine in the world.
B
78
S
23
G
6
Posts: 234
Reputation: 7,662

Post » Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:11 am

I couldn't repro, and the bug was automatically closed due to no response (maybe the bot was overzealous, it looks like you did respond there). Re-open it, closed bugs are permanently ignored and won't be looked at again. However, if I can't reproduce it, there's basically nothing I can do. Do you know any particular software/hardware that affects it? Judging from the tracker history, I didn't have enough information to act on it.

"Will you fix <insert bug here>?" is a common question that comes up from lots of people following new builds. Of course we want to fix all problems if we can. The best you can do is ensure there's an open tracker item about it, and provide as much information as possible so a developer can reproduce the issue and investigate. If it's really causing you problems (eg. collisions don't work or similar) set the priority higher and someone might be more likely to look at it. But we can't guarantee anything.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,498

Post » Mon Dec 14, 2009 2:23 pm

Android can you please give exact details of how to reproduce this bug?

'This message pops up when I add a new sprite and try to run the
appliccation.'

How are you adding a new sprite, are you using the insert object dialog (creating a new object type) or are you making another instance by copy and paste/drag and drop/ or are you pasting by clone?

I had a look at http://paahdin.com/crud/spritecrash.cap but when I run the cap it doesn't crash. luomu82 said it crashed in UpdateBoundingBox so I'm gonna have a quick look in there but this is very weird.
B
4
S
2
G
5
Posts: 641
Reputation: 3,011

Post » Mon Dec 14, 2009 2:37 pm

Awesome new build guys!

Especially this:

[quote:1f78wj60]- [FIX] Platform Movement - You no longer vibrate on moving platforms or fall through them if they move up.[/quote:1f78wj60]

YAY! :P
B
21
S
6
G
10
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 7,445

Post » Mon Dec 14, 2009 6:32 pm

wow great adds and fixes, woeha set mass works,yey

i do have something run very different from the last update, but will put it on the tracker
some altered picking with function object i think
B
2
G
3
Posts: 72
Reputation: 994

Post » Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:43 pm

I too am affected by the same sprite bug as Android-Music on one of my systems (winxp sp3, all latest dx updates, etc...). I reproduce the bug by trying to run [u:3bvvxi4l]any[/u:3bvvxi4l] cap that contains the sprite object. I suspect it's some hardware incompatibility as I'm able to run Construct just fine on another system running fully upgraded WindowsXP. The system I have that doesn't work has following hardware:
* Pentium III 866mhz
* NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 128mb
-Forceware driver 175.19 (which is the most updated driver available for the card)
B
79
S
24
G
52
Posts: 4,725
Reputation: 39,713

Post » Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:56 pm

Oh thanks for attention, people! :) Well, R0J0Hound is right, the error pops up anytime you try to add a sprite, no matter how. Maybe you should try to recall what did you do in 0.99 builds and what you didn't do in 0989? I don't know what else to suggest.
B
78
S
23
G
6
Posts: 234
Reputation: 7,662

Post » Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:57 pm

As far as I remember, 0.99 was when the rendering engine was changed.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Mon Dec 14, 2009 8:31 pm

Nice, cheers guys for this. I see v 1.0 getting closer and closer... Any information about online plugin?... Just asking :)
B
4
S
1
G
3
Posts: 85
Reputation: 1,234

Post » Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:25 pm

[quote="David":2ccm1u9t]Davioware what is the collision bug XD ?[/quote:2ccm1u9t]

I guess he means the pretty serious "when two per-pixel collision object collide, game might crash"-bug. I have it too. I think an update was supposed to fix it, but people still said it happened... ?
B
5
S
2
G
3
Posts: 234
Reputation: 1,818

PreviousNext

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests