Construct 2 + CocoonJS + MoPub + AdMob

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Jul 18, 2013 4:30 am

I created simple game using Construct 2 and then compiled using CocoonJS.
As ads I used MoPub and added code from AdMob. I used Leadboard (728x90)
ad.

The problem is that even with 300+ impressions (showed on AdMob account
and MoPub account) I still get 0 clicks.

So my question is: is it Construct 2 (r138.2) fault or CocoonJS or mine? :)
B
18
S
7
G
1
Posts: 783
Reputation: 4,247

Post » Thu Jul 18, 2013 4:59 am

That's not uncommon. One of my apps on ipad has 300 impressions today and 0 clicks. Same app on iphone has 330 with 4 clicks. ArcadEd2013-07-18 05:03:36
B
101
S
32
G
11
Posts: 1,552
Reputation: 21,667

Post » Thu Jul 18, 2013 5:05 am

ok, thanks for reply

so I will just wait longer

(however on 'native' AdMob SDK I always got some clicks fast)szymek2013-07-18 05:06:24
B
18
S
7
G
1
Posts: 783
Reputation: 4,247

Post » Thu Jul 18, 2013 9:59 am

You need to get a lot of plays for it to make any real difference. Not many ads get clicked on. Think how many ads you see, and how many you clicked on out of that many.

For me, I probably click on 1 in 10000. But I'm a worst case.
B
231
S
62
G
33
Posts: 902
Reputation: 40,348

Post » Fri Sep 20, 2013 3:46 am

Hi szymek, can you tell me, how to add admob in my game? I am new on this :)
B
2
Posts: 1
Reputation: 152

Post » Fri Sep 20, 2013 6:26 am

UPDATED ON 2013-12-22

Please see here:

https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/781/how-to-setup-admob-ads-on-construct-2-mopub-cocoonjsszymek2013-12-22 14:41:28
B
18
S
7
G
1
Posts: 783
Reputation: 4,247

Post » Fri Sep 20, 2013 10:25 am

@szymek it was complicated the first time, than I made a spreadsheet to keep track of all my ID's (publisher ID,unit ID). Even though MoPub website is bad structured, I got used to it
From what I read in some books about monetize you game, putting buttons next to banners is not the honest way to go...but generates more clicks.
B
79
S
21
G
23
Posts: 513
Reputation: 18,648

Post » Fri Sep 20, 2013 11:29 am

the biggest problem is that on Java app 320x50 banner would look good on any resolution, and on CocoonJS it will be big on i.e. 800x480 and terrible small on 1280x720 (and so on)

anyway: banner on top = -50% clicks, banner on bottom = +50% clicks; more touches in app = more clicks...

but as I stated in many posts: Java dev can make real money on entry ad + interstitial ad + banner ad + exit ad; and C2 dev can make pennies on AdMob banners. Quite unfair :)

summing up:

everyone interested should mail i.e. [email protected] and push them to support Construct 2 szymek2013-09-20 11:37:52
B
18
S
7
G
1
Posts: 783
Reputation: 4,247

Post » Fri Sep 20, 2013 7:57 pm

[QUOTE=szymek] 0 - add CocoonJS in Construct 2, put "show banner ad" on i.e. menu eventsheet, level eventsheets etc.

for example: on layout start show banner on bottom center; on layout end hide banner

1st Create account on AdMob + add app info + get AdMob banner ID
2nd Create account on MoPub + add app info + get MoPub ID + put AdMob banner ID in network settings
3rd Create account on CocoonJS and mail them for MoPub ads support; when ads supportet - then add app info and put MoPub ID for this project

compile CocoonJS
and check if everything works on debug-signed APK

points 1-3 may look complicated, but it is 5 minutes of copy/paste
(i.e. copy AdMob banner ID to MoPub dashboard; copy MoPub ID to CocoonJS dashboard)[/QUOTE]

@szymek Really usefull information. Thank you very much
Image
B
39
S
10
G
1
Posts: 103
Reputation: 4,036

Post » Sat Sep 21, 2013 7:59 am

@Gurrufio

your welcome. Other good practice is to put ads settings in 'Ads' eventsheet, and then just include it where needed
B
18
S
7
G
1
Posts: 783
Reputation: 4,247

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Sventevith and 5 guests