Construct 2 Crashes when clicking below Properties

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri Feb 08, 2013 1:54 pm

@Paradox - followed your instructions, still can't reproduce. On Windows 8 here. Normally my properties grid is tall enough not to need scrolling, but I tried with the window resized down so I also have to scroll, still no issue here.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:39 pm

[quote]Open Construct 2 r114/r116/r117 by double clicking a desktop shortcut,
left click File (or the file button rather),
left click New,
left click New Empty Project,
right click "Object types" in the Projects Tab,
left click "Insert new object",
double click Sprite,
left click anywhere on the layout to place it,
Exit out of "Edit image" window that should pop-up,
Ctrl+C to copy the sprite already selected,
Ctrl+V to initiate pasting duplicate sprite,
left click anywhere else on the layout,
left click the Sprite listing under "Object types" in your Projects tab,
left click anywhere below "More information | Help on the left,
Construct 2 should crash and create the stopped working window.[/quote]

I've followed this but get slightly confused at
"left click anywhere else on the layout,"
"left click the Sprite listing under "Object types" in your Projects tab"


If you click anywhere else (off the sprite) you don't get the 'Object types'.

but I have tried following it with the sprite clicked and without the sprite clicked and I can't get it to crash (V118).

Operating System
     MS Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit SP1
CPU
     Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 @ 3.00GHz     97 C
     Conroe 65nm Technology
RAM
     4.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 399MHz (6-6-6-18)
Motherboard
     ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5KPL-AM (Socket 775)     84 C
Graphics
     SyncMaster (1920x1080@59Hz)
     1024MB GeForce 8800 GT (Undefined)     57 C
B
72
S
25
G
9
Posts: 382
Reputation: 10,649

Post » Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:51 am

It meant to click off the sprite to deselect it. Then use the object list in the pane on the side to select all of the instances for that object in one click. That seems to be the key as the projects pane has to be active when you click the properties pane. It won't crash if you select the pane first.

I still can't narrow it down though, It took a few clicks with a tutorial already running, but it finally crashed.
then I started a new project, made a sprite, filling it with black. control dragged to created a copy, deselected. then I selected both in the projects pane. crashed immediatly clicking the space under the properties, but above the little tooltip window.
B
200
S
51
G
30
Posts: 897
Reputation: 36,496

Post » Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:43 am

@Paradox

I think this is a definite bug, but it is hard to explain. That's why Ashley probably can't re-create it.

Maybe someone with the know-how could create a YouTube movie of the process , so Ashley could see it happen.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,843
Reputation: 48,287

Post » Mon Feb 11, 2013 6:58 pm

I still can't reproduce, even when selecting via the Project bar so the Project bar has focus then immediately clicking in the Properties bar...
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:33 pm

Here is a youtube video, but I don't know that it helps much other than show how easy it re-creates on my machines. I selected the properties pane in the video and show the click does nothing, then re-select the projects pane, and the click crashes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SSN9crX4kTQ&feature=youtu.be

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 870 @ 2.93GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.9GHz
Installed Memory (RAM): 16.0 GB
System type: 64-bit Operating System
Pen and Touch: Pen Input Available
Video Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460
Display Memory: 4050 MB
Monitor Model: Cintiq21UX
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
(quad core laptop has windows 8 and does it too.)

Edit: trying the link again, the "no follow" the forum added seems to have a quote after it.Paradox2013-02-11 22:36:54
B
200
S
51
G
30
Posts: 897
Reputation: 36,496

Post » Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:15 pm

I have tried it and it crashes in my computer as well.

B
32
S
8
G
2
Posts: 31
Reputation: 4,256

Post » Mon Feb 18, 2013 12:04 pm

Still can't reproduce; no crash here.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:50 pm

Crashes for me too: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit.

I reproduced it by following Paradox's video almost exactly:

1) In either a new or existing project, duplicate an object (text, sprites, anything) in the layout view.
2) Click on the object's name in the projects pane OR select multiple instances of the same object in the layout view.
3) With the objects selected, click on the left side of an empty part of the properties pane and then click on the right side OR click on the right then left side.

This has actually been something that I've suffered with a long time, and I feel a little relieved that I now know what the cause is. Figured it was just "one of those things" so I save compulsively to avoid losing work (it's happened too many times). Used to do this when I had Windows 7, too.
B
56
S
15
G
10
Posts: 910
Reputation: 11,942

Post » Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:09 am

[QUOTE=GeometriX] Crashes for me too: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit.

I reproduced it by following Paradox's video almost exactly:

1) In either a new or existing project, duplicate an object (text, sprites, anything) in the layout view.
2) Click on the object's name in the projects pane OR select multiple instances of the same object in the layout view.
3) With the objects selected, click on the left side of an empty part of the properties pane and then click on the right side OR click on the right then left side.

This has actually been something that I've suffered with a long time, and I feel a little relieved that I now know what the cause is. Figured it was just "one of those things" so I save compulsively to avoid losing work (it's happened too many times). Used to do this when I had Windows 7, too.[/QUOTE]


Same here but for me but it's enough to select two or more instances/objects and clicking on the pane below the properties. Tried with both 122 and 123.2 but crashed the same. I have Windows 7 64-bit.
B
7
Posts: 2
Reputation: 530

PreviousNext

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests