Construct 2 for android

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:35 pm

While it's not running C2 on the device itself, I use Splashtop 2 remote desktop software on my iPad (there's an android version) and it works quite well. I think it requires wifi though, and I haven't tried it on anything other than my house network, so the latency might be higher from other locations.

Also, porting c2 is actually a much, much more complex task than it seems.Arima2013-01-02 22:37:14
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:41 pm

Maybe someone could start a little app, which allows you to script for Construct 2 on the way and import the script or upload it to dropbox, but a whole game development IDE on a smartphone is pretty useless. Construct 2 has things, which need to be focused before you can even think of something like that. The developers should spend their time on more useful things like easier multiplayer integration, cardgame plugin etc.
B
8
S
2
Posts: 110
Reputation: 1,463

Post » Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:44 pm

Why CardGame plugin ? :D @Astrosus

Yeah , after thinking , C2 is pretty much useless without keyboard ...
B
35
S
16
G
16
Posts: 2,222
Reputation: 16,589

Post » Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:57 pm

Why no Card game plugin? Card games are quite feasible and can have an unbelievable depth and complexity (e.g. Magic)

Better use your travelling time for testing your already made games instead of trying to create new games on the run.
B
8
S
2
Posts: 110
Reputation: 1,463

Post » Thu Jan 03, 2013 2:16 am

This suggestion doesn't make any sense. I'd love to see construct for Linux, and mac users will probably want a version for their wretched excuse for an operating system as well.

So far though, Construct 2 on Windows 7 is pretty sweet. There are much bigger problems to tackle in development.

Edit: You are absolutely correct Arima, sorry!Fimbul2013-01-03 16:03:50
B
35
S
8
G
8
Posts: 532
Reputation: 6,868

Post » Thu Jan 03, 2013 5:13 am

@Fimbul - even if you're joking with your choice of words, there's a chance someone will take your language seriously and consider it insulting. Maybe a less adversarial tone? We want people using macs to feel welcome too!Arima2013-01-03 05:21:38
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Fri Jan 04, 2013 12:58 am

I just don't see the point of using C2 on a smaller device such as a phone, maybe a tablet I guess, but on a phone its asking for quite a lot. I also don't think many low end devices could run an app of C2 while also prototyping a test game at the same time. I would rather prefer the developers work on solidifying the fps on games for android and ios rather then building an app of C2 which would probably have troubles running on most phones.

But if you really want to use C2 from your phone then check out the app phone2pc or use Arima's suggestion. Both apps will remotely connect your phone to your laptops desktop using Wifi. Kind of like a desktop camera that can control all of your things on your desktop and it should allow you to both test and work with C2 without wasting too much power on your phone or without crash the device. I think. I haven't tested it out yet, but I may later.retrodude2013-01-04 01:03:25
B
18
S
4
G
3
Posts: 436
Reputation: 4,801

Post » Sun Jan 06, 2013 7:40 am

I just thought that seeing as android is vastly outselling even PC's it might be nice to get a port happening..I cant see any reason why C2 couldn't run on android tablets..they are more than powerful enough..my nexus 7 with is much older can run mega apps...

Check this article on android sales...one of many...might be worthwhile investing the time to a port....:-) just a thought..I know I would be one of the first down loaders...:-)


Cheers..

android sales articlemystazsea2013-01-06 07:46:07
When in doubt..or you are lost in a Zombie apocalypse or someone is giving you a hard time..Remember one thing..... Read the Construct 2 Manual..it will save your life.:)
B
29
S
11
G
8
Posts: 313
Reputation: 7,335

Post » Sun Jan 06, 2013 8:51 pm

[QUOTE=Whiteclaws] @mystazsea ,
Ah ... Those days :D , Such a long time ... So , Get a windows emulator and run C2 on your nexus 7 , it should work ...[/QUOTE]

One cannot simply run windows on an android device. The little ARM processors cannot handle x86. Win 95 is possible but 18 years out of date
B
11
S
1
G
2
Posts: 14
Reputation: 736

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Televangelist, TRMG, Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests