Construct 2 freezing

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Sat Nov 16, 2013 6:06 pm

Link to .capx file (required!):
http://www.mediafire.com/download/jd50aq51k7tq3rr/RPG2.capx

Steps to reproduce:
1. Load the file into Construct 2
2. Try to edit anything in either of the event sheets.


Observed result:
The program freezes and I have to close using the Windows Task Manager.

Expected result:
The same.

Browsers affected:
Chrome: yes/no
Firefox: yes/no
Internet Explorer: yes/no

Operating system & service pack:
Windows 7 Ultimate, not sure which service pack but is fully up to date.

Construct 2 version:
r150
B
25
S
8
G
6
Posts: 35
Reputation: 4,965

Post » Sat Nov 16, 2013 7:43 pm

This hardly follows the bug reporting guidelines - it's huge!

However, if you unzip the .capx using something like winzip or 7zip, then delete the 'uistate.xml' files,it should then open.

Whatever you are doing with the (seemingly) hundreds of objects called pixels makes me think this is an incredibly badly designed engine.

I've re-saved the .capx and put it on Dropbox, just in case:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/34306693/RPGfixed.capx

@Ashley
Forgot to say, this did throw a Check error but it couldn't be given focus, so no idea what it said.zenox982013-11-17 11:21:20
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
84
Posts: 5,387
Reputation: 58,456

Post » Mon Nov 18, 2013 1:45 pm

Closing as won't fix. There are well over 30,000 images in this project, notably Sprite through Sprite1378 all of which appear identical and redundant, doing nothing but wasting memory. You cannot possibly expect the software to be able to handle this. You must design your project to use far, far fewer images than this.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests