construct 2 is not so fast after all

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed May 18, 2016 1:44 pm

@mahdi71 - This is what happens if you don't read the manual or learn the program and already start complaining. It is clear to us active users that you don't know much about Construct 2 and you are already starting to complain. My advice to you is to learn C2 first then you'll know all your misunderstandings. This is clearly a bait.

Image
The Things you can create is only limited by your imagination. If you don't have the skills then use your motivation as a natural force to exceed all expectations. Chadori RebornXD
B
65
S
21
G
90
Posts: 1,124
Reputation: 59,862

Post » Wed May 18, 2016 1:49 pm

About point1, the ui.

I wonderd if would build some ui from start, would i encouter the same problems ....

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B1SSu ... HNZWUtXSjg

I did't. Why ? Lets talk.
B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 20,950

Post » Wed May 18, 2016 1:53 pm

99Instances2Go wrote:About point1, the ui.

I wonderd if would build some ui from start, would i encouter the same problems ....

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B1SSu ... HNZWUtXSjg

I did't. Why ? Lets talk.


im not sure what you trying to achieve with your capx... ? its acting as made... what wold you expect to happen? 9 patch however is not the best usage in this example ... 9 patch ...tiled-background they all have no original points as a normal sprite but more like the text object their original points are called hotspots and can be changed from the settings left side ... but you already know that.

i still dont understand why you think something is wrong with your capx... it behaves as you made it behave... but maybe your machine is to slow and you visualize or experience something else then what i seen. see my preview's post in this topic about delta time on page 1


maybe run your capx on your machine and print screen it? or record a video of the problem? it runs perfect here.. (perfect as i compare the events you made and what happens when i run it)
B
78
S
23
G
69
Posts: 1,353
Reputation: 44,005

Post » Wed May 18, 2016 2:16 pm

mahdi71, you been around long enough and build more then enough to know various limitations.

Why has it suddenly become an issue to rant about ?


Also,
mahdi71 wrote:so yes c2 is not so fast after all . and its really not good for big projects.


That construct 2 is not so fast is more a matter of personal opinion here I think.
To me it is one of the quickest development tools around.

And handling large projects is just another skill set you need to acquire.
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,572

Post » Wed May 18, 2016 2:32 pm

@gamecorpstudio is said "I did't. Why ? Lets talk."

Dont sound to me like i have a problem. Assuming that is English, maybe it should be "i did not".

Sound to me as an invitation to talk about concrete solutions to concrete problems. To get arround one thing involved the 9patch?

Yeah i know you cant set imagepoints on it. Yet. It is a nice object to scale backgrounds behind a simple ui.

And thank you cinserely for that compliment. (calling it perfect) Very appreciated.
B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 20,950

Post » Wed May 18, 2016 2:51 pm

Thanks GamesCorpStudio.

ctrl+c and ctrl+v? as long as you have the same variables and objects C2 will be able to copy from a project to another the event sheets just by copy pasting...

This is what I try to do, but it almost always tells me I have a variable I have to declare (a static variable in scope usually) and I have to go and fill these all in.

I don't understand your wait 0 explanation, but I will read the manual again as you suggest.

thanks for your time.
yours Winkr7
B
34
S
8
G
3
Posts: 169
Reputation: 3,305

Post » Wed May 18, 2016 3:10 pm

@mahdi71 (better adres you, else GamesCorpStudio shoots at me)

About your point 2-sheets. Yes you have to pick them. But picking one, combined with the use of a container is so easy.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B1SSu ... XlJV2V5akU
B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 20,950

Post » Wed May 18, 2016 3:20 pm

lennaert wrote:mahdi71, you been around long enough and build more then enough to know various limitations.

Why has it suddenly become an issue to rant about ?


Also,
mahdi71 wrote:so yes c2 is not so fast after all . and its really not good for big projects.


That construct 2 is not so fast is more a matter of personal opinion here I think.
To me it is one of the quickest development tools around.

And handling large projects is just another skill set you need to acquire.

hi, its not an issue .
people here think i said it can't be done, but i said its just take alot of work for a thing wich can be done by a drag and drop !
just read what i write then tell me if i wrong.
people here answer me with a "lol" becuase they really dont have an answer, i said this things can be done but with much work. just that so i dont need an capx example
B
16
S
6
Posts: 243
Reputation: 1,755

Post » Wed May 18, 2016 4:23 pm

Ofcours you need an example once in a while.

When you say thinks like: 4- when you set a sprite variable in layout 1 you can not access to that in other layout

Then i just have to prove you wrong.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B1SSu ... kFtbWtzeHM

Still dont want help ?
B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 20,950

Post » Wed May 18, 2016 4:26 pm

mahdi71 wrote:
lennaert wrote:mahdi71, you been around long enough and build more then enough to know various limitations.

Why has it suddenly become an issue to rant about ?


Also,
mahdi71 wrote:so yes c2 is not so fast after all . and its really not good for big projects.


That construct 2 is not so fast is more a matter of personal opinion here I think.
To me it is one of the quickest development tools around.

And handling large projects is just another skill set you need to acquire.

hi, its not an issue .
people here think i said it can't be done, but i said its just take alot of work for a thing wich can be done by a drag and drop !
just read what i write then tell me if i wrong.
people here answer me with a "lol" becuase they really dont have an answer, i said this things can be done but with much work. just that so i dont need an capx example


Haha, some of the replies were rather short sighted; users glancing your trophies, post count and member status.... and go 'meh must be n00b'.
However, if they took a moment to look at your posting history ^_^


The things you mention, yes, some are tedious, and can be overcome in various matter.

A short sum up:
UI requires a similar approach in all projects to be easy portable.
I would recommend a creation approach; event and actions building and placing ALL the UI elements from an objects-container-layout. (1 layout holding all the objects initial objects)
This way you could easily copy paste an object for UI objects to another project's objects-layout, and copy paste all the events associated with that.

Families;
Remember that with families, you can still create the object using the original object name, and in the same action refer to them as the family object in order to manipulate the family values.

Reusable code, well, methods above mentioned show it certainly is possible, its all in the approach.

To retain an objects instance variable, remember you can set objects as global too, just make sure you correctly manipulate its position and visibility appropriately across layouts.
I tend to use 1 invisible sprite somewhere in the top left with a load of instance variables, and the object set as global.

The new local storage ... it just depends on how you use it ...
You could set 1 local storage variable with a global object's instance variables by means of an ASJSON. (mentioned above) And also restore it.
Thus you could save or load unlimited instance variables with a single local storage command.


:)
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,572

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AndreasR, DavidCerdeira, zenox98 and 10 guests