Construct 2 on Mac OSX

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:56 am

I got construct 2 playing nice with a snow leopard.


B
37
S
19
G
18
Posts: 613
Reputation: 10,231

Post » Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:06 pm

I have no experience with Macs unfortunately, but that looks extremely promising. How did you get it to work? Do you need to run anything special beforehand?
Image Image
Scirra Founder
B
125
S
37
G
25
Posts: 3,945
Reputation: 44,922

Post » Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:50 pm

I'm assuming you used some sort of Windows Virtual Environment?
B
3
S
1
G
3
Posts: 49
Reputation: 1,148

Post » Wed Jul 13, 2011 1:10 pm

Hey, awesome :) How'd you do it?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Wed Jul 13, 2011 2:40 pm

Did you mean the actual Construct 2 software or did you run a C2 game in Safari or something ?
B
46
S
17
G
18
Posts: 847
Reputation: 13,802

Post » Wed Jul 13, 2011 2:54 pm

[QUOTE=Zack0Wack0] I'm assuming you used some sort of Windows Virtual Environment?[/QUOTE]

Yeah i'm using parallels virtual desktop. It partitions a space for the windows os then runs the software in their own window right in the osx.

Its fully integrated so you can drag and drop files from one to the other seamlessly, or save/load files stored on either os.

Good thing is of course that the html5 app can be played natively in the safari browser.
B
37
S
19
G
18
Posts: 613
Reputation: 10,231

Post » Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:02 pm

i do the same with vmware fusion 3...big fun!
B
52
S
17
G
15
Posts: 1,029
Reputation: 26,339

Post » Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:24 pm

How is it speed wise? I looked into vmware but heard parallels was faster.
B
37
S
19
G
18
Posts: 613
Reputation: 10,231

Post » Wed Jul 13, 2011 7:13 pm

it is great speedwise.

i chose vmware for it's stability and it's established reputation for virtualization in general. but i'm sure both get the job done well. especially for a 2d game engine. i'm sorry 'the' 2d game engine...lol.

i'm glad to see other mac users enjoying having access to it. i tried codeweavers, which was a nightmare, and it would have cost more in 'donations' to get it working, then just buying a known solution. i hope wine can get it working for the linux crowd. i've run a couple of distro's of that as well.

construct was the sole reason i put w7 on my machine, and i have to say it has been worth it. every time i fire up that little icon.
B
52
S
17
G
15
Posts: 1,029
Reputation: 26,339

Post » Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:03 pm

Also Linux distros like Ubuntu can work with Construct 2 using WINE :)
B
96
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,054
Reputation: 22,642

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: zenox98 and 10 guests