Construct 2 on Mac OSX

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Aug 25, 2011 10:16 am

[QUOTE=Joannesalfa] Also Linux distros like Ubuntu can work with Construct 2 using WINE :)[/QUOTE]

I tried run Construct 2 on Ubuntu 11.04 (Natty Narwhal) with Wine, and it doesn't work. (tried with the last version of Wine, of course).
B
6
G
1
Posts: 3
Reputation: 563

Post » Thu Aug 25, 2011 12:46 pm

It's best to contact the Wine developers if C2 doesn't work via Wine - we don't have any control over it.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,620

Post » Thu Sep 15, 2011 6:54 am

I was able to get construct 2 to run in Linux using wine 1.3.24 with the graphics configuration set to emulate virtual desktop. That was my experience I just thought I would share what worked for me. Maybe it will work for you too.

Here is a link with some screen shots if you need it.
http://ubertechpress.wordpress.com/2011/09/14/construct-2-game-design-software-in-ubuntu-linux/
B
2
G
1
Posts: 7
Reputation: 514

Post » Thu Sep 15, 2011 3:19 pm

@gnugeek, great to hear! Can anyone else get it to work on Linux?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,620

Post » Thu Sep 15, 2011 10:16 pm

You should be able to get it working on Linux using something like virtual box its free.

It also has a seem-less mode so it will hide the virtual Windows OS desktop but draw Windows apps over the top of the desktop of Gnome. Performance would be slightly affected. I tried thid in Contract Classic last year but it obviously had issue with directx. Shouldn't be a problem in contract 2!
My Games on google play

ImageImage
B
30
S
6
G
4
Posts: 97
Reputation: 3,008

Post » Thu Sep 15, 2011 10:53 pm

I'd like to try out virtual box for my MB Pro. At this time, I'm running on a dedicated Windows machine for C2. Thanks for the link, it reminds of one of the other things I need to try out.
B
18
S
8
G
7
Posts: 120
Reputation: 5,630

Post » Fri Sep 16, 2011 6:08 am

I tried using wine on my Mac and Construct 2 worked .... sort of. It installed fine and opened with errors.

Terminal screen capture below:


This is what it looks like:


It does not function well. But, I am trying to run a windows program on a Mac. Would love for Construct 2 to work with wine (as it's free).

System Stats:
Mac OS X v. 10.6.8
2.5 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4 GB RAM
B
7
S
1
G
1
Posts: 17
Reputation: 871

Post » Fri Sep 16, 2011 2:33 pm

@BadFish, perhaps you could let the Wine developers know it doesn't work? It's up to them to fix it, and if they like Construct 2 they might prioritise it.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,620

Post » Fri Sep 16, 2011 3:48 pm

[QUOTE=Ashley]perhaps you could let the Wine developers know it doesn't work? It's up to them to fix it, and if they like Construct 2 they might prioritise it.[/QUOTE]

You will have to excuse my ignorance. Where would I do that?
B
7
S
1
G
1
Posts: 17
Reputation: 871

Post » Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:01 pm

http://bugs.winehq.org/
Their bugzilla website should be the correct place.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 17 guests