Construct 2 on Mac OSX

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Dec 26, 2013 7:17 pm

Having success so far with following setup...

My Setup
--------
MacBook Pro (15" Mid 2010) with 4gb RAM
Mac OS X 10.9 Mavericks
VirtualBox 4.3.6 (Free from Oracle!)
Windows 7 Pro
Allocated 2gb RAM for OS X and 2gb RAM for Windows 7
Construct 2 Release 152 (trying free edition for now)
Firefox 26.0 (to run the Layouts)

Results
-------
* Upon install, Construct 2 suggests getting latest video drivers which of course won't work, so didn't change them. However, I did up the resolution in the control panel.

* Loaded and ran both included demos successfully in C2 running through Firefox. However the frame rate and sound may be been a bit laggy. And, one of the demos gave a message about OpenGL not working but that was to be expected. Demo still played ok.

* Tested the problem experienced by the other person who tried VirtualBox
and it worked for my setup.   Namely, I started a new project, dragged a PNG into it and ran layout -- displayed the image as expected (no gray box problems)

I am new to C2 so I have not put it through its paces, but there is no weirdness yet at this point.

Because of the impact of memory on speed in both my operating systems, I just ordered 8gb (2x4gb) RAM for about $60 to replace my 4gb. Because I think my OS X 10.9 especially is cramped running with only 2gb available to it. (But it does still seem usable with only 4gb total.)

I will update if I find any problems. Or let me know if there is anything specific I should test.

I also own VMWARE Fusion but its version is outdated and I can't run fusion under 10.9 without updating to version 6 and paying for a new license. So I am happy that VirtualBox seems to be a good free alternative. Just have to supply your own Windows OS license.




B
2
Posts: 2
Reputation: 154

Post » Thu Dec 26, 2013 9:39 pm

I just set up a new rig, late 2013 MBP/Windows 8.1 (bootcamp) with Parallels 9.

Construct crashes every time I try to create a new or open a capx.

Anyone having anything similar?

Thanks,
-Ry-
B
17
S
8
G
1
Posts: 25
Reputation: 2,649

Post » Thu Dec 26, 2013 9:41 pm

Mac/Win Shared Folders, Bidirectional Copy/Past, and improved graphic drivers are available to VirtualBox when you install "Guest Additions".

Get the ISO from VirtualBox for example (I don't have permission to post the actual URL) so here it is with some extra spaces: download.virtualbox .org /virtualbox/ 4.3.6/ VBoxGuestAdditions_4.3.6.iso

Download to Mac and use vbox to mount it to CD drive of your virtual windows machine and install. Then when you select a folder to share from your mac under VirtualBox it shows up under "computer" as a network location with a drive letter assigned!

Also turn on bidirectional copy paste under virtual box general settings --> advanced.

I haven't tried it, but Guest Additions also allows an experimental DirectX 3D mode, to be installed in safe mode, which might work even better for C2?

B
2
Posts: 2
Reputation: 154

Post » Sat Jan 11, 2014 8:12 pm

Hello everyone. I'm desperately trying to get Construct 2 to work on my Mac (I've spent quite a lot of money so far trying) but to no avail. I've read around and I know it's the Graphics Card issue.

So here is my setup:

Mac 27" 3.4GHZ
Parallels 9
Windows 8.1

The problem seems to be as Parallels emulates the hardware there doesn't seem to be anyway of updating the Graphics Card. I've tried downloading the drivers manually but when you run the install it doesn't recognise the Graphics Card. I'd read in this thread previously people had had success with Construct 2 running in Parallels... can anyone help me?I'd be really appreciative as Construct 2 was one of the key reasons why I invested so much money in a new Mac and all this software...

B
2
Posts: 1
Reputation: 152

Post » Sat Jan 11, 2014 9:53 pm

try bootcamp instead? thats what i do, got the best of both world, work on C2 in windows, test xcode file on osx :)
Doo Doo Diving App Store | Google Play

Donut Pirate App Store | Google Play
B
14
S
2
G
1
Posts: 193
Reputation: 1,483

Post » Wed Jan 15, 2014 2:58 pm

But... Does Construct 2 exist for mac?
B
6
S
1
Posts: 33
Reputation: 535

Post » Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:28 pm

No. C2 is a Windows only program at the moment.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,843
Reputation: 48,287

Post » Wed Jan 15, 2014 5:42 pm

What is it doing?

On my late 2012 Macbook I wan Parallels 9, windows 8.1 and Construct with 0 issues.

There are *some* parallels settings that can be changed to affect performance.

What errors are you getting?

[QUOTE=slapaham] Hello everyone. I'm desperately trying to get Construct 2 to work on my Mac (I've spent quite a lot of money so far trying) but to no avail. I've read around and I know it's the Graphics Card issue.

So here is my setup:

Mac 27" 3.4GHZ
Parallels 9
Windows 8.1

The problem seems to be as Parallels emulates the hardware there doesn't seem to be anyway of updating the Graphics Card. I've tried downloading the drivers manually but when you run the install it doesn't recognise the Graphics Card. I'd read in this thread previously people had had success with Construct 2 running in Parallels... can anyone help me?I'd be really appreciative as Construct 2 was one of the key reasons why I invested so much money in a new Mac and all this software...

[/QUOTE]
B
31
S
12
G
7
Posts: 412
Reputation: 6,864

Post » Mon Jan 20, 2014 10:07 pm

Construct 2 is not playing well with macs running Parallels 9* on Maverics**. Construct will open to the main page, but if you attempt to load a project or create a new project it will crash. Other applications have been having similar problems with parallels running on Maverics. The parallels team has said that they are working on fixes to alleviate the compatability issues with Maverics.

Is anyone running other VM software on Maverics with success?

*my version 9.0.24172
**My version OSX 10.9.1

13" MacBook 2008
2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce 9400M 256 MBIshrocker2014-01-20 22:08:32
B
3
Posts: 3
Reputation: 181

Post » Mon Jan 20, 2014 11:53 pm

Do you think that in parallels only Maverick is a problem?
I think that the problem in Paralles itself. Parallels emulate graphic card - try go to Window - System Device - in Graphic card you will see - NOT Microsoft card or Nvidea - you will see Emulated card by parallels.
That is the problem.
I have the same Paralles and window on my Macbook Pro.
Construct crash when you open progect.
I suppose You need another Wm soft with the possibility using origional graph card
B
2
Posts: 5
Reputation: 160

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Arima and 3 guests