Construct 2 on Mac OSX

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Jan 21, 2014 2:16 am

After my issue with Parallels 9 and Maverics I uninstalled it.

I installed VirtualBox and Windows 8.1 preview. It is running Construct 2 with no problems. It opens projects, and creates projects fine. The space shooter game that comes with Construct 2 built and ran without issues.
B
3
Posts: 3
Reputation: 181

Post » Tue Jan 21, 2014 7:07 pm

Your ram could be an issue.
I had HUGE performance issues when I upgraded to parallels 9 and mavericks. I had to up my VM ram to 4 gb (which you only have 4) in order to get mine running smoothly.

So yes, I did get Parallels 9 and Mavericks to work fine. Why you cannot, I am not sure.

That is good that VirtualBox is working for you.
I would reinstall Parallels if I were you and tweak the settings. Make sure Parallels Tools was installed.

[QUOTE=Ishrocker] Construct 2 is not playing well with macs running Parallels 9* on Maverics**. Construct will open to the main page, but if you attempt to load a project or create a new project it will crash. Other applications have been having similar problems with parallels running on Maverics. The parallels team has said that they are working on fixes to alleviate the compatability issues with Maverics.

Is anyone running other VM software on Maverics with success?

*my version 9.0.24172
**My version OSX 10.9.1

13" MacBook 2008
2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce 9400M 256 MB[/QUOTE]
B
31
S
12
G
7
Posts: 415
Reputation: 6,870

Post » Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:58 pm

Has there been any official word on a official release of Construct for mac? I just signed up and would love if I can do work on my Macbook.
B
3
S
1
Posts: 2
Reputation: 356

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 1:38 am

[QUOTE=WGMeets] Has there been any official word on a official release of Construct for mac? I just signed up and would love if I can do work on my Macbook.[/QUOTE]

I would like a Mac version too, but Scirra is only two people and most PC users here don't want them spending time developing for other platforms, because it might mean they won't receive updates as often as they would like.

Between you and me, I think they are worried that Ashley and Tom will like Macs so much, they may never come back to the platform. I can't blame them. Once you go Mac....
B
14
S
3
G
1
Posts: 87
Reputation: 1,103

Post » Fri Jan 24, 2014 7:23 am

I never tried upping the ram on Parallels 9 with Mavricks. I would love to hear if anyone else has had success with this fix. I liked the interface of Parallels more than VirtualBox.
B
3
Posts: 3
Reputation: 181

Post » Sun Jan 26, 2014 5:00 pm


I have Paralles 9 and Maverics. Up my RAM to 6.5 GB - but Construct Crash
I have Windows 8. If you have working Construct2 on Mac with Parallels 9 can you tell us your Software setings?
B
2
Posts: 5
Reputation: 160

Post » Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:47 pm

It works on Virtual Box perfectly. Probably it's different virtualization
technology then parallels.
Virtual box and Parllels did not work at once. If my Virtual Box satrted - Parallels return the Error and did not start.

B
2
Posts: 5
Reputation: 160

Post » Wed Jan 29, 2014 3:26 am

Yeah sure, no problem.
I am busy studying for test at the moment, but this weekend I will post a comprehensive list of settings I have. Note, when I install a fresh parallels 9, windows 8.1, and construct, it works off the bat for me.

[QUOTE=vldmax]
I have Paralles 9 and Maverics. Up my RAM to 6.5 GB - but Construct Crash
I have Windows 8. If you have working Construct2 on Mac with Parallels 9 can you tell us your Software setings?[/QUOTE]
B
31
S
12
G
7
Posts: 415
Reputation: 6,870

Post » Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:38 pm

@vldmax

Here are my settings:

Parallels 9
2 CPU's
3gb ram
All disks shared
Performance set to "faster virtual machine" -> tune windows for speed

For my Mac I have:
Intel i7 -2.9ghz
8gb ram
750gb HDD

I am runnings windows 8.1 in my VM
Construct works flawlessly.
B
31
S
12
G
7
Posts: 415
Reputation: 6,870

Post » Sun Feb 09, 2014 6:05 pm

I've been having the same problems with running Construct under Parallels 9 (Windows 8.1, Mac OS 10.9.1).

I tried to set up Virtualbox to use my Bootcamp partition, using this how to, but couldn't get it to work. (I'm not allowed to post a link to the how to.)

I've ended creating a Windows XP virtual machine with VB, which seems to run Construct without a hitch. Fortunately, I still have XP-compliant Bootcamp drivers stored away for it.

- Richard
B
7
S
1
Posts: 17
Reputation: 646

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Artpunk and 14 guests