Construct 2 resource hog?

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Sun Apr 17, 2016 10:06 pm

Problem Description
____ Hi, I'm following the tutorials in the Level 0 ebook. Right now, I'm making their third game Jumble Art. I've noticed that in task manager, the C2 editor is using up to 800mb of memory, which slows my computer to a crawl. Other members on the forum have tested the game and they found similar issues. Maybe it's probably my computer that is a little outdated, but I'm posting this bug report just to make sure.

Attach a Capx
____https://www.dropbox.com/s/n9svawobjbwb7be/Jumble%20Art.capx?dl=0

Description of Capx
____ A simple puzzle game where the Mona Lisa painting is split into nine tiles, shuffled, and you have to put them in order

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • Adding instance variables to game and animation frames
  • Adding music and sound effects

Observed Result
____ The C2 editor consumes nearly a gig of memory

Expected Result
____The C2 editor requiring less memory to operate the game

Affected Browsers
  • Chrome: (YES/NO) Yes
  • FireFox: (YES/NO) Yes
  • Internet Explorer: (YES/NO) Yes

Operating System and Service Pack
____ Windows 10 Home Premium 64-bit

____ Specs:
Laptop: Compaq Presario CQ57
CPU: AMD C-50 Processor 1.00 ghz
GPU: AMD Radeon 6250 HD
RAM: 2gb



Construct 2 Version ID
____ Construct 2 r227 64-bit Free edition
B
10
S
3
G
1
Posts: 13
Reputation: 1,271

Post » Sun Apr 17, 2016 11:06 pm

can take 1.5GB +
viewtopic.php?f=146&t=171455&p=1030094#p1030094

Tested on C2 227 paid
W10 i3-5010U, 4GB Laptop

  • System > On start of layout | system > load game from slot "brain"
  • System > On load failed | system > scroll to obj_Forum
B
17
S
8
G
5
Posts: 340
Reputation: 4,707

Post » Sun Apr 17, 2016 11:09 pm

Yes it's a resource hog.
In that it will eat whatever you feed it.
A huge background for example.
https://www.scirra.com/blog/112/remembe ... our-memory
Image ImageImage
B
169
S
50
G
174
Posts: 8,324
Reputation: 110,792

Post » Mon Apr 18, 2016 1:50 am

newt wrote:Yes it's a resource hog.
In that it will eat whatever you feed it.
A huge background for example.
https://www.scirra.com/blog/112/remembe ... our-memory


Okay, that clears things up. I guess with html5 being relatively new, a lot of developers have to workout the kinks and make sacrifices to maximize performance.
B
10
S
3
G
1
Posts: 13
Reputation: 1,271

Post » Mon Apr 18, 2016 2:53 am

It doesn't use that amount of memory for me. The editor with that capx only takes up 150 Mb on my machine according to the task manager. My system was new in 2007. The editor only takes 74 Mb with a blank capx.

r227 32bit
Windows Vista sp2 32bit

cpu: amd turion 64 x2, 1.9 ghz
graphics: ati radeon x1200
4 Gb shared memory
B
92
S
32
G
109
Posts: 5,291
Reputation: 70,993

Post » Wed May 04, 2016 12:19 pm

Can't reproduce, editor only uses 200mb here with both layouts open. This is pretty tiny compared to today's machines with gigabytes of memory.
Scirra Founder
B
398
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,428
Reputation: 194,600

Post » Mon May 09, 2016 3:15 pm

Ashley wrote:Can't reproduce, editor only uses 200mb here with both layouts open. This is pretty tiny compared to today's machines with gigabytes of memory.


Hmmm... Not sure what's going on with how my laptop handles certain tasks. I see that puzzle 1 takes up the most memory when I close the other layouts. Anyway, I'll try making their next game in the ebook. Thanks for the help everyone!
B
10
S
3
G
1
Posts: 13
Reputation: 1,271


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 6 guests